Jump to content

Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
* - - - - 1 votes

One 1/2" belt drives the blower, has any one,,,,,


  • Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 propane1 ONLINE  

propane1
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 54307
  • 7,761 Thanks
  • 3,800 posts
  • Location: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Posted January 09, 2017 - 06:46 PM

ever put a two belt, or chain, or some other drive system in to drive the blower/thrower on a garden tractor. This topic is based on my lgt 165 ford, but could apply to any make of garden tractor. The worn belt is only on its second season. And the tractor was only used less than 10 times. I have two springs pulling the idler to keep the belt tight. Pullies line up reasonable well.
Has always been a problem with this tractor and the other ford tractor. Maybe it a ford thing, but it seems to me that, the belt has to much to turn. Just the blower on the ford has a lot is mass weight to turn before it even gets into the snow. Then add the movement of the snow , wet or powdery to the pressure of turning every thing. I just think it needs a better drive system.
And there was no indication that the belt was slipping before it came off. Was workin great.
Some of you are puttin diesels in garden tractors , so I know your smart engouh to figure this drive system out. My thought would be to make it a two belt system.
Any ideas.

Noel

Pictures of old and new belt.

Attached Thumbnails

  • image.jpg
  • image.jpg

  • holdenboy1960 and pryan05 have said thanks

#2 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 29,936 Thanks
  • 29,753 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted January 09, 2017 - 06:54 PM

Hey Noel, can we see the belt routing on that?
  • Bolens 1000, propane1 and holdenboy1960 have said thanks

#3 Bolens 1000 ONLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 14,223 Thanks
  • 17,847 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted January 09, 2017 - 06:56 PM

What kind of belt are you using is it an OEM or Kevlar replacement ?  Or just a generic belt?



#4 poncho62 ONLINE  

poncho62
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 42
  • 1,101 Thanks
  • 1,410 posts
  • Location: Hanover, Ont, Canada

Posted January 09, 2017 - 06:59 PM

I have the same problem with my LGT165 blower. I have been buying the cheaper belts and they last about 1/2 the winter. Wondering if a Kevlar or better quality belt would last longer, but they are cheap, so I dont worry too much about it....just keep a spare handy. 


  • MH81, propane1 and holdenboy1960 have said thanks

#5 propane1 ONLINE  

propane1
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 54307
  • 7,761 Thanks
  • 3,800 posts
  • Location: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Posted January 09, 2017 - 07:02 PM

Hard to get a picture, but will try tomorrow. In the house now and I am not going back out. -17 degrees celcius Has pulley on engine, pulley on the 90 degree gear box and a idler pulley in between the two pulleys,that is spring loaded, to pull the belt tight.

Noel
  • MH81 and holdenboy1960 have said thanks

#6 propane1 ONLINE  

propane1
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 54307
  • 7,761 Thanks
  • 3,800 posts
  • Location: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Posted January 09, 2017 - 07:09 PM

Kevlar belt, I don't get the cheapy ones, they won't last at all. I do keep an extra belt, just a pain in the behind, to change the belt. Ya just get going, and there ya are, broke down. I doubt that you could get an oem belt from NH. Plus it would be expensive, and if ya could ever get one of them to wait on you.

Noel
  • MH81 and holdenboy1960 have said thanks

#7 DH1 OFFLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 5,012 Thanks
  • 5,462 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted January 09, 2017 - 07:12 PM

Can you get a 5'8" wide belt on there?


  • MH81 and propane1 have said thanks

#8 Cvans OFFLINE  

Cvans

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5412
  • 5,784 Thanks
  • 5,741 posts
  • Location: Eastern SD.

Posted January 09, 2017 - 07:27 PM

On my Franken blower I had to double the belts. 8 more hp. was too much for one belt.  If your think you working in close quarters your probably right. Had to machine a double idler pulley but other than that I think it was all an over the parts counter project. 


  • propane1 and holdenboy1960 have said thanks

#9 propane1 ONLINE  

propane1
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 54307
  • 7,761 Thanks
  • 3,800 posts
  • Location: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Posted January 09, 2017 - 07:39 PM

Have to change pulleys to get a 5/8 on, but could be done I guess. Part of the trouble is , the ford has two pulleys on the crank. One extra for the tiller, which is smaller. Both pulleys are made out of one piece, I believe.

Noel
  • holdenboy1960 said thank you

#10 propane1 ONLINE  

propane1
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 54307
  • 7,761 Thanks
  • 3,800 posts
  • Location: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Posted January 09, 2017 - 07:41 PM

Chris, could you post a picture of yours , if you can get to it easily.

Noel
  • holdenboy1960 said thank you

#11 propane1 ONLINE  

propane1
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 54307
  • 7,761 Thanks
  • 3,800 posts
  • Location: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Posted January 09, 2017 - 07:43 PM

My John Deere 140 H3 runs one 5/8 belt for the thrower.

Noel
  • holdenboy1960 said thank you

#12 DH1 OFFLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 5,012 Thanks
  • 5,462 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted January 09, 2017 - 07:49 PM

I noticed that my Massey 10 was hard on the snow thrower belt, didn't last too long.


  • propane1 said thank you

#13 propane1 ONLINE  

propane1
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 54307
  • 7,761 Thanks
  • 3,800 posts
  • Location: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Posted January 09, 2017 - 07:56 PM

Never had any trouble with my MF 12. But mine was driven from under the tractor Doug, was yours driven from up top. ?

Noel

#14 DH1 OFFLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 5,012 Thanks
  • 5,462 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted January 09, 2017 - 08:05 PM

Never had any trouble with my MF 12. But mine was driven from under the tractor Doug, was yours driven from up top. ?

Noel

Yes belt came off the crank and went forward, 1 belt good for about 1 season.


  • propane1 said thank you

#15 Rock farmer ONLINE  

Rock farmer
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10759
  • 1,177 Thanks
  • 1,218 posts
  • Location: York Maine

Posted January 09, 2017 - 08:07 PM

I haven't had any problems going through belts on my snowblower.
I have started burning up belts on my mower decks.
I attribute that to the bearings in the spindles or the idler pulley.
I'd suggest it's not a design problem.
But, more likely a condition problem?

Using two springs to tension the idler pulley shouldn't be needed.
It would be interesting to see a failed belt?

Joe
  • holdenboy1960 said thank you




Top