Jump to content

Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Kubota diesel questions


  • Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#31 webn237 OFFLINE  

webn237
  • Member
  • Member No: 85566
  • 9 Thanks
  • 17 posts

Posted January 08, 2017 - 05:30 PM

I'll have a volt meter so it can go to that. It's going to have all the gauges and everything it's going to be really cool lol
Gauges will be up above the radio counsel

6000741238032a6f8f65b1c932712aa5.jpg94846c8504096ad5c2bed29bbbc39b1f.jpg

Sent from my SM-G935R4 using Tapatalk

#32 miller_time OFFLINE  

miller_time
  • Member
  • Member No: 65621
  • 31 Thanks
  • 46 posts

Posted January 08, 2017 - 05:30 PM

Club car makes a tapered clutch apapter that bolts to the kubota flywheel if you are using a tapered clutch. Its part #102465901 and $66 #14
4a0d2bf4b934cec3c6b10c18870902ee.jpg

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

#33 webn237 OFFLINE  

webn237
  • Member
  • Member No: 85566
  • 9 Thanks
  • 17 posts

Posted January 08, 2017 - 05:31 PM

The flywheel had a clutch adapter on it already I'm hoping to reuse with a 780 comet clutch 9035ce37df9e083a7236f2c1ae203b93.jpg08b08f733f0c48aac09b6a5a8b508254.jpg

Sent from my SM-G935R4 using Tapatalk
  • olcowhand and Mark 149 J. have said thanks

#34 miller_time OFFLINE  

miller_time
  • Member
  • Member No: 65621
  • 31 Thanks
  • 46 posts

Posted January 08, 2017 - 05:55 PM

Yup that should work perfect for a 780 comet

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
  • webn237 said thank you

#35 webn237 OFFLINE  

webn237
  • Member
  • Member No: 85566
  • 9 Thanks
  • 17 posts

Posted January 13, 2017 - 07:26 PM

So I just got my comet clutch and the clutch adapter only goes half way. I don't think that is going to work is it?

Sent from my SM-G935R4 using Tapatalk

#36 miller_time OFFLINE  

miller_time
  • Member
  • Member No: 65621
  • 31 Thanks
  • 46 posts

Posted January 13, 2017 - 09:06 PM

Yes it should still be fine. The shaft usually doesn't go in the entire way. I


Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

#37 webn237 OFFLINE  

webn237
  • Member
  • Member No: 85566
  • 9 Thanks
  • 17 posts

Posted January 13, 2017 - 09:20 PM

Even if it's only half way? Just put a longer bolt in to keep it from pulling off?

Sent from my SM-G935R4 using Tapatalk

#38 miller_time OFFLINE  

miller_time
  • Member
  • Member No: 65621
  • 31 Thanks
  • 46 posts

Posted January 14, 2017 - 01:16 PM

Yup longer bolt is all. I have used the 780 in a couple 6x6 amphibious atvs with the briggs vanguard engines. There pto is just under 3" long so a little shorter than yours even.works just fine. They come from the factory that way.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

#39 polarisdiesel OFFLINE  

polarisdiesel
  • Member
  • Member No: 81814
  • 7 Thanks
  • 31 posts
  • Location: texas

Posted April 19, 2017 - 02:26 PM

I'd suggest a gt06 for the turbo, or a gt12 but that's probably gonna be a little on the big side for a 600cc. I have a gt12 on a 900cc yanmar and it's a little laggy but it also smokes more when I take off so I like it. And I don't think 8-10 psi will shorten the life of your engine by a noticeable amount. It's a kubota their tough !! And you will be looking at about 25-30% horsepower increase. I vote turbo


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#40 DaveBb OFFLINE  

DaveBb
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 62819
  • 405 Thanks
  • 173 posts
  • Location: Quebec

Posted April 30, 2017 - 10:27 AM

The stock Kubota turbos add about 5 psi boost and running up to 10 will cause no issues. That being said the more air you push the more fuel you need... the added air in effect leans things out and heats things up. Crank the fuel screw out all the way and it might be enough. Something to keep in mind is for the turbo to be useful you will need to run the engine at full throttle most of the time (3000 -3500). Running a turbo setup at lower rpm will actually decrease the performance over a stock non turbo setup.I have some suitable turbos if you go that way. 

Attached Thumbnails

  • 15541671_10153875138752030_5692866756672920933_n.jpg

Edited by DaveBb, April 30, 2017 - 10:33 AM.

  • olcowhand, 637Yeoman and webn237 have said thanks

#41 polarisdiesel OFFLINE  

polarisdiesel
  • Member
  • Member No: 81814
  • 7 Thanks
  • 31 posts
  • Location: texas

Posted April 30, 2017 - 06:11 PM

What size turbos are those ? Any of them ball bearing


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#42 637Yeoman OFFLINE  

637Yeoman
  • Senior Member
  • GTt Junior
  • Member No: 77049
  • 1,550 Thanks
  • 1,254 posts
  • Location: SW Michigan

Posted April 30, 2017 - 10:58 PM

The stock Kubota turbos add about 5 psi boost and running up to 10 will cause no issues. That being said the more air you push the more fuel you need... the added air in effect leans things out and heats things up. Crank the fuel screw out all the way and it might be enough. Something to keep in mind is for the turbo to be useful you will need to run the engine at full throttle most of the time (3000 -3500). Running a turbo setup at lower rpm will actually decrease the performance over a stock non turbo setup.I have some suitable turbos if you go that way. 

How long do you reckon a vh70 techumseh with some modifications would last with one of those turbos?

 

:hijacked:


Edited by 637Yeoman, April 30, 2017 - 11:00 PM.


#43 Cvans OFFLINE  

Cvans

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5412
  • 6,180 Thanks
  • 5,947 posts
  • Location: Eastern SD.

Posted May 01, 2017 - 12:17 AM

How long do you reckon a vh70 techumseh with some modifications would last with one of those turbos?

 

Long enough to blow up?



#44 637Yeoman OFFLINE  

637Yeoman
  • Senior Member
  • GTt Junior
  • Member No: 77049
  • 1,550 Thanks
  • 1,254 posts
  • Location: SW Michigan

Posted May 01, 2017 - 08:22 AM

Long enough to blow up?

Most likely, i want to do something cool like that to some engine..


  • Cvans said thank you

#45 DaveBb OFFLINE  

DaveBb
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 62819
  • 405 Thanks
  • 173 posts
  • Location: Quebec

Posted May 01, 2017 - 04:44 PM

Yoeman putting a turbo on a float type carb requires a air tight box that encases the complete carb otherwise you blow the fuel out of the bowl. Also not sure a single cylinder moves enough exhaust to spin a turbo...


  • Cvans and 637Yeoman have said thanks




Top