sacsr

Bush Hog Addict

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4776
  • 3,446 Thanks
  • 3,360 posts

Posted December 29, 2016 - 09:36 PM

Needing some guidance. This is a solid state HH100 Tecumseh motor. I have seen it run on video. Brought it home, put a good battery in it, turned the key and nothing. Motor is not stuck. I have checked continuity on the switch and on first click nothing....when i turn it over to "start" it there is continuity. This is an Indak switch and it only has 3 wires going to a 5 terminal. The 3 terminals being used are battery, starter and magneto. The empty terminals are "A" auxillary and  "R" regulator.
How do I check that power is getting to the starter?? Yes I am still a novice when it comes to electrics.
Thanks in advance.

Edited by sacsr, December 30, 2016 - 11:24 AM.

#2 Tecumseh power OFFLINE  

Tecumseh power

Jack of all trades, master of none.

• Member No: 77571
  • 1,454 Thanks
  • 1,104 posts

Posted December 29, 2016 - 10:40 PM

Be careful with that switch make sure you are not sending 12v to the stator or you will burn up the solid state. The middle wire on the plug that comes out of the blower housing. Goes to the M on a 5 prong switch to ground the stator when key is off. The other two go to the voltage regulator. To the key. Meter the selnoid to see where you are losing your power. One side will have power with key off. Both sides should have it with key on start. Does your selinoid have two small wires or one?

Edited by Tecumseh power, December 29, 2016 - 10:44 PM.

• sacsr said thank you

#3 Tecumseh power OFFLINE  

Tecumseh power

• 1,454 Thanks
  • 1,104 posts

Posted December 29, 2016 - 10:46 PM

If no power on both sides with key on start position, check that power is getting to the selnoid by metering the little exciter wire that goes from the key down to it.
  • sacsr said thank you

#4 sacsr OFFLINE  

sacsr

Bush Hog Addict

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • 3,446 Thanks
  • 3,360 posts