Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Installing Hydraulic lift


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 OldBuzzard ONLINE  

OldBuzzard

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 805
  • 6,481 Thanks
  • 4,633 posts
  • Location: Oberlin, OH

Posted June 03, 2011 - 07:34 PM

The Hydraulic lift came in today. Now it's a matter of installing it on the G10.

Anyone have some good pics of just where it mounts on the tractor? The "instructions" are kind of vague.

It's all connected, and I'm thinking that it's going to be a lot easier to install if I disconnect the lines. Any advice on that as well. I'm going to assume that I'll lose fluid/oil when I do that. What would be the proper fluid/oil to use?

#2 Bolens 1000 OFFLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,673 Thanks
  • 17,198 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted June 03, 2011 - 07:37 PM

I use 30wt oil

Usually they can be mounted with the lines on............

I will get you some pics ASAP

#3 Bolens 1000 OFFLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,673 Thanks
  • 17,198 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted June 03, 2011 - 07:51 PM

Hope these help:

First you got to get the 2 mounting bars on under the engine
Then you can put the belt and hydraulic body on.
Lastly attach the plate on top of the transmission cover. and hook up the cylinder to the attachment lift lever.

Attached Thumbnails

  • hydro 002.jpg
  • hydro 003.jpg
  • hydro 001.jpg
  • hydro 005.jpg
  • hydro 004.jpg

  • OldBuzzard said thank you

#4 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted June 03, 2011 - 07:58 PM

If you do a search for the hydraulic lift I have a thread about putting one on dad's Bolens 800. I posted a video of it too. Let me dig through my attachments and see what I have.

*edit: I found a couple of them and added to the post.

Attached Thumbnails

  • DSC_0249.jpg
  • DSC_0250.jpg
  • DSC_0248.jpg
  • DSC_0124.jpg
  • DSC_0123.jpg

  • OldBuzzard said thank you

#5 OldBuzzard ONLINE  

OldBuzzard

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 805
  • 6,481 Thanks
  • 4,633 posts
  • Location: Oberlin, OH

Posted June 03, 2011 - 08:13 PM

I saw the vids the you and Brian posted on Youtube.

What I mostly need to know is where do those two bars mount?

Also is there an easy way to figure which one I have? There is no readable tag on it anywhere.

#6 Bolens 1000 OFFLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,673 Thanks
  • 17,198 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted June 03, 2011 - 08:35 PM

There really is no way to tell what model you have. They basically are all the same.

The bars go right under the engine. You put the bars under and take out the spacers.

#7 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted June 03, 2011 - 10:05 PM

Just like Brian said, do one side at a time and use a pry bar. Take the bolts out of one side front/back of the engine mounts. Loosen up the other side but don't take the bolts out to help keep the engine in place. Use the pry bar to hold the engine up while taking the spacers out of whatever side you are doing first. The bars have four holes in them each. You want to match the spacing with the engine mounting holes and set it in place under the engine with he left over hanging out on the right side of the engine looking at it if you were sitting on the seat.

#8 OldBuzzard ONLINE  

OldBuzzard

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 805
  • 6,481 Thanks
  • 4,633 posts
  • Location: Oberlin, OH

Posted June 04, 2011 - 02:26 PM

Ruh Roh...problems.

Those four engine mounting bolts are not a standard hex.

The are kind of like a reversed torx but with more 'splines'. I tried getting a pic, but camera is not co-operating.

Anyone know what I'm talking about?

#9 coldone OFFLINE  

coldone

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 839
  • 1,631 Thanks
  • 1,668 posts
  • Location: Central NC

Posted June 04, 2011 - 02:43 PM

Ruh Roh...problems.

Those four engine mounting bolts are not a standard hex.

The are kind of like a reversed torx but with more 'splines'. I tried getting a pic, but camera is not co-operating.

Anyone know what I'm talking about?


Try a 12 point socket

#10 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted June 04, 2011 - 04:15 PM

Try a 12 point socket


:ditto:

#11 OldBuzzard ONLINE  

OldBuzzard

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 805
  • 6,481 Thanks
  • 4,633 posts
  • Location: Oberlin, OH

Posted June 04, 2011 - 04:19 PM

I did some Googling, and it appears to be a "Spline head".

I found a socket set, so I'll order one. Only about 12.00 for the socket set. I'll try that. Would rather not booger up the bolts if at all possible.

If those don't work, I'll try other options.

OH, and yet another thing....what size belt am I gonna need for this?

Edited by OldBuzzard, June 04, 2011 - 04:35 PM.


#12 Bolens 1000 OFFLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,673 Thanks
  • 17,198 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted June 04, 2011 - 05:14 PM

I did some Googling, and it appears to be a "Spline head".

I found a socket set, so I'll order one. Only about 12.00 for the socket set. I'll try that. Would rather not booger up the bolts if at all possible.

If those don't work, I'll try other options.

OH, and yet another thing....what size belt am I gonna need for this?


It takes the same size as your starter belt 171-4690

#13 OldBuzzard ONLINE  

OldBuzzard

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 805
  • 6,481 Thanks
  • 4,633 posts
  • Location: Oberlin, OH

Posted June 11, 2011 - 01:06 PM

OK...12 point socket did a splendiferis job of getting those mounting bolts loose. :D

Howsome ever...now I gotta whole new problem. Them spacers DO NOT want to part company with the engine/mounting plate. I've tried athumpin em, I tried puttin vice grips on em and atwistin em, thinkin maybe they is threaded...nuttin. :mecry:

EDIT:

On further perusal of the G10 parts list...it appears that those rascals are not removable. I think I'm going to have to take one of those brackets off of the engine to see just what they did. If I can't get them off, I'll have to have someone fab a replacement for me. It would just be a piece of flat stock with 4 holes in it.

Edited by OldBuzzard, June 11, 2011 - 01:25 PM.


#14 Bolens 1000 OFFLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,673 Thanks
  • 17,198 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted June 11, 2011 - 08:37 PM

Mabye they were welded to the engine? :confuse:

#15 OldBuzzard ONLINE  

OldBuzzard

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 805
  • 6,481 Thanks
  • 4,633 posts
  • Location: Oberlin, OH

Posted June 11, 2011 - 09:10 PM

Nope. It's a piece of bar stock that bolts to the engine, and then bolts to the frame using what appear to be permanent "spacers"

#90 in the pic.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Eng_Mount.PNG





Top