Jump to content

Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

OK now I did something stupid


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Xrperry ONLINE  

Xrperry
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 73285
  • 955 Thanks
  • 731 posts
  • Location: Spokane wa

Posted December 22, 2016 - 07:35 PM

I was putting the battery in my suburban 12 ,I turned the key and it turned over. I put the battery hold downs on and noticed I had the cables switched !
I put them back right and it turned over and started it. There was no sparks or burnt wires anywhere but did I fry something?

#2 Tecumseh power OFFLINE  

Tecumseh power

    Jack of all trades, master of none.

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 77571
  • 1,453 Thanks
  • 1,103 posts
  • Location: Vintondale pa

Posted December 22, 2016 - 07:43 PM

You can fry the charge coil on the stator very easy like that on a Tecumseh Being that it still runs it should be ok. Does it have a starter generator? Or a regular starter? The ignition system is different. on the hh120 with a starter generator. The one with the starter generator you probably won't hurt anything

Edited by Tecumseh power, December 22, 2016 - 07:51 PM.

  • Alc and Xrperry have said thanks

#3 Xrperry ONLINE  

Xrperry
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 73285
  • 955 Thanks
  • 731 posts
  • Location: Spokane wa

Posted December 22, 2016 - 07:51 PM

It's a starter generator
  • Tecumseh power said thank you

#4 Tecumseh power OFFLINE  

Tecumseh power

    Jack of all trades, master of none.

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 77571
  • 1,453 Thanks
  • 1,103 posts
  • Location: Vintondale pa

Posted December 22, 2016 - 07:53 PM

I think you will be ok. I couldn't remember if the ss12 had a generator or not
  • Xrperry said thank you

#5 Lmiller3358 OFFLINE  

Lmiller3358

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5109
  • 1,466 Thanks
  • 1,412 posts
  • Location: Massachusetts

Posted December 22, 2016 - 08:41 PM

Should be fine, my buddy did that on a newer Craftsmen this past spring and fried the starter relay !


  • Alc and Xrperry have said thanks

#6 MiCarl ONLINE  

MiCarl
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 75926
  • 1,785 Thanks
  • 960 posts
  • Location: Livonia, MI

Posted December 22, 2016 - 09:25 PM

Throw a meter on it and make sure it's charging (if it's got an ammeter you can see it there too).  If it's charging find something else to worry about.


  • Xrperry said thank you

#7 MH81 OFFLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 29,961 Thanks
  • 29,757 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted December 22, 2016 - 09:38 PM

Does the red light go out?
Apart from frying something, the generator can be polarized wrong that way. On the upside, powering the starter should re polarize it correctly.
  • Xrperry said thank you

#8 toppop52 ONLINE  

toppop52
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 54420
  • 4,837 Thanks
  • 4,498 posts
  • Location: Lower Eastern Shore of Maryland

Posted December 22, 2016 - 09:52 PM

"OK now I did something stupid"
Yes you did! But you have a lot of company, we've all done it.
  • MH81, Alc and Xrperry have said thanks

#9 Xrperry ONLINE  

Xrperry
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 73285
  • 955 Thanks
  • 731 posts
  • Location: Spokane wa

Posted December 22, 2016 - 10:21 PM

The red light don't work at all now maybe cooked it.

#10 MH81 OFFLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 29,961 Thanks
  • 29,757 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted December 22, 2016 - 11:14 PM

The red light don't work at all now maybe cooked it.

That's not good.
Put a meter on the battery.
After it starts, it should come up to 14ish volts.
If not, time to do some troubleshooting
  • Xrperry said thank you

#11 chieffan OFFLINE  

chieffan
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62695
  • 8,999 Thanks
  • 6,167 posts
  • Location: SW Iowa

Posted December 23, 2016 - 08:10 AM

Easy enough to do when you get a tractor with two black cables.  I put red tape on the positive cable for about 3" from the battery clamp.  Saved my butt a few times.


  • MH81, Alc, ericjr16 and 1 other said thanks

#12 Xrperry ONLINE  

Xrperry
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 73285
  • 955 Thanks
  • 731 posts
  • Location: Spokane wa

Posted December 23, 2016 - 12:13 PM

Yep mine have 2 black cables and I have a roll of red tape, was going to wrap the positive cable before I took it apart, but forgot to do it, thought I knew witch one was positive. Its wrapped now.lol

Edited by Xrperry, December 23, 2016 - 12:14 PM.


#13 Tecumseh power OFFLINE  

Tecumseh power

    Jack of all trades, master of none.

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 77571
  • 1,453 Thanks
  • 1,103 posts
  • Location: Vintondale pa

Posted December 23, 2016 - 07:49 PM

I bought a panzer one time with a 10hp Tecumseh I took it home and put a battery in it and instantly ruined the stator. Someine replaced the cables and put a red one to the chassis ground and a black one to the starter solenoid. I should have looked first but who would have thought.
  • MH81 and Xrperry have said thanks

#14 Xrperry ONLINE  

Xrperry
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 73285
  • 955 Thanks
  • 731 posts
  • Location: Spokane wa

Posted December 24, 2016 - 11:24 AM

Yep something so simple can really booger things up.
  • Tecumseh power said thank you




Top