13 replies to this topic

#1 SPECKER OFFLINE  

SPECKER

• Member No: 3794
  • 0 Thanks
  • 10 posts

Posted June 03, 2011 - 12:30 PM

Hey guys

I'm overhauling an ONAN Performer P216G gasoline engine. I ordered new rings for the engine and the oil ring is a wierd setup. The oil ring is a different type of ring than the one that was installed when I dissassembled. This new ring looks like corrugated-type center, with a spacer on the top and a spacer on the bottom. I'll try to get a picture on here of it if I can figure out how to do it. Lol. Anyways the problem i'm having is actually getting the piston in the engine with the new rings. One piston went in fine, and the 2nd is being an arse. I cleaned the ring lands, and the bore is the way it should be. But for some reason, the damn thing won't go in. I ordered new rings and I will get them on Monday, but until then, i'm looking for suggestions on installing this piston.

Just to let you guys know, i'm a diesel engine technician. This is my 1st gas engine overhaul. Real engines don't have spark plugs ;) hahaha

Thanks again!!

IMG_1080.jpg

#2 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

Lost in Cyber Space

• Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts

Posted June 03, 2011 - 01:07 PM

Did you happen to check the ring gap first? Usually the rings don't need sized but you might want to check them just in case. Looks like the typical oil ring/wiper setup.

#3 olcowhand OFFLINE  

olcowhand

Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,650 Thanks
  • 29,840 posts

Posted June 03, 2011 - 01:16 PM