Jump to content

Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Long time question I need some electrical guy to answer.


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Tecumseh power OFFLINE  

Tecumseh power

    Jack of all trades, master of none.

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 77571
  • 1,438 Thanks
  • 1,095 posts
  • Location: Vintondale pa

Posted December 18, 2016 - 10:35 PM

I'm not the best with electricity. So help will be appreciated. My question is on these 10 and 20 amp Tecumseh stators, what can be used as a replacement voltage rectifier? I think if I remember correctly. The 10 amp puts out about 42 volts AC. If I wanted to use a different type regulator/rectifier. What would the specs be if I was looking. For a replacement? 10 amp or 20 amp 12v ? Or what are some options off other machines? I'm tired of all my suburbans not charging. And I'm not paying 75 for a used one. When there is new regulators. To be had on ebay for 10 or 20 bucks. Just need to know the specs i would need to look for . I'd like to use my headlights and not just use the battery for starting. What have you guys used? I can mount it on the tractor it doesn't have to be on the blower cover like the factory ones.

#2 New.Canadian.DB.Owner OFFLINE  

New.Canadian.DB.Owner
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10178
  • 2,324 Thanks
  • 1,496 posts
  • Location: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

Posted December 19, 2016 - 01:08 AM

So many variables. So many years since trades training.  So little Captain Morgans.  If it is 42V ac peak to peak, then running it through a bridge rectifier gives you 21 vac p2p.  A good filter would give you 70% of that as DC (14.7 vdc).  In theory, any 12 volt car or GT regulator should work.  My Allis uses a Delco -Remy.


  • Tecumseh power said thank you

#3 Tecumseh power OFFLINE  

Tecumseh power

    Jack of all trades, master of none.

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 77571
  • 1,438 Thanks
  • 1,095 posts
  • Location: Vintondale pa

Posted December 19, 2016 - 01:11 AM

So if I get a 12v small engine one on ebay do I get the 20 amp one of its a 20 amp system?

#4 Tecumseh power OFFLINE  

Tecumseh power

    Jack of all trades, master of none.

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 77571
  • 1,438 Thanks
  • 1,095 posts
  • Location: Vintondale pa

Posted December 19, 2016 - 01:13 AM

Or could I use this one on the 10amp stator the amps confuse mehttps://www.dbelectr...r-IAaAowf8P8HAQ

#5 MiCarl OFFLINE  

MiCarl
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 75926
  • 1,714 Thanks
  • 918 posts
  • Location: Livonia, MI

Posted December 19, 2016 - 08:17 AM

The amp rating on the regulator/rectifier will be how much current it can handle before releasing its magical blue smoke.  To be safe it should be rated as high or higher than the stator.

 

So you should be fine with a 15 amp regulator/rectifier on a 10 amp starter but it might well die young with a 20 amp stator.


  • propane1 and Tecumseh power have said thanks

#6 TAHOE OFFLINE  

TAHOE
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 24522
  • 7,737 Thanks
  • 5,580 posts
  • Location: "Hamiltucky" Ohio

Posted December 19, 2016 - 10:08 AM

It doesn't matter that it looks like the original, as long as it has AC/B+/AC outputs, you are fine.

I run the cheapie Onan 20 amp ones off ebay on my Sears 20 amp system, I think I paid $11 for the last one I bought. I use a winch pretty heavily for snow plowing so I usually burn one up if plowing snow for a long time, but they hold up well during normal use.

Just search Onan regulator of John Deere regulator on Ebay

 

Regulator Sears.jpg


  • Tecumseh power said thank you

#7 Tecumseh power OFFLINE  

Tecumseh power

    Jack of all trades, master of none.

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 77571
  • 1,438 Thanks
  • 1,095 posts
  • Location: Vintondale pa

Posted December 19, 2016 - 10:59 AM

Thanks guys this was a big help

#8 propane1 ONLINE  

propane1
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 54307
  • 7,859 Thanks
  • 3,825 posts
  • Location: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Posted December 19, 2016 - 11:36 AM

I thought it was magical green smoke that came out, and as my son says, ya can't put the smoke back in.

Noel
  • Tecumseh power said thank you

#9 MiCarl OFFLINE  

MiCarl
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 75926
  • 1,714 Thanks
  • 918 posts
  • Location: Livonia, MI

Posted December 19, 2016 - 12:24 PM

I thought it was magical green smoke that came out, and as my son says, ya can't put the smoke back in.

Noel

 

That'd be metric smoke.  We don't use that here.


  • KennyP, propane1, Leonard VanCamp and 1 other said thanks




Top