• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 dtsh ONLINE  

dtsh
  • Member No: 82586
  • 233 Thanks
  • 157 posts

Posted December 17, 2016 - 04:05 PM

I have an H-16 which seems to operate for a poo wile OK, but then the hydraulics loose all power and it just stops. I had hoped that a fluid change would help, but it did not. Thus far, it appears my attempt to resolve it with a fluid change has made no change.

It will run for a while, but after a bit of heavy work, it seems to lose all hydraulic power, both to the drive and to the lift cylinder. I notice that the fluid level in the reservoir rises and sometimes overflows. It makes strange gurgling sounds sometimes when I shut it off, something the PO had mentioned it has always done.

I'm hoping some of you with more experience with the hydraulics package can help me to find out where the issue is and what it will take to fix it. I'm relatively technically competent, but when it comes to hydraulics I am not experienced.

What should I be looking for?

Edited by dtsh, December 17, 2016 - 04:05 PM.

#2 boyscout862 ONLINE  

boyscout862
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8923
  • 12,177 Thanks
  • 8,893 posts

Posted December 17, 2016 - 04:40 PM

The thining of warm oil could show up wear problems or an air leak problem. Check the manuals for the troubleshooting guide on the hydraulics. Good Luck, Rick

#3 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,964 Thanks
  • 4,087 posts

Posted December 17, 2016 - 06:21 PM

I suspect you have an air infiltration issue that is foaming the oil and causing it to over flow due to fluid expansion due to the aeration of the oil.

Most likely cause is a bad seal at the charge pump drive shaft. Other causes would be air entering into the suction side of the charge pump intake.

Hope this helps.

#4 dtsh ONLINE  

dtsh
  • 233 Thanks
  • 157 posts

Posted December 17, 2016 - 09:02 PM