Jump to content

Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

New to Ariens.. s16h


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 mswill OFFLINE  

mswill
  • Member
  • Member No: 84963
  • 5 Thanks
  • 5 posts
  • Location: NW PA

Posted November 16, 2016 - 11:36 AM

I'm new to the Ariens world, but what a great little tractor so far.. I was wondering how practical it might be to put power steering on my S16H.. and if parts might be available to convert it
  • Gillis.jim said thank you

#2 Cat385B ONLINE  

Cat385B

    HAZMAT CAT

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8002
  • 13,374 Thanks
  • 9,735 posts
  • Location: MN

Posted November 16, 2016 - 12:48 PM

http://gardentractor...power-steering/
  • boyscout862 said thank you

#3 shorty ONLINE  

shorty

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6172
  • 4,909 Thanks
  • 4,965 posts
  • Location: Lancaster County Pa

Posted November 16, 2016 - 01:25 PM

Welcome to GTtalk!
The link above has good info on adding the steering. As for getting parts to do it, a mower junkyard might have one.
  • boyscout862 and Gillis.jim have said thanks

#4 dodge trucker ONLINE  

dodge trucker
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 19314
  • 2,019 Thanks
  • 2,675 posts
  • Location: kankakee

Posted November 16, 2016 - 01:44 PM

I have a gt 19 with PS, with a plow or loader or snowblower on the front end, I can tell a difference but just mowing not really much difference IMHO
  • boyscout862 said thank you

#5 mswill OFFLINE  

mswill
  • Member
  • Member No: 84963
  • 5 Thanks
  • 5 posts
  • Location: NW PA

Posted November 16, 2016 - 01:57 PM

Thanks all... yes mowing no problem, but with the blower on,, power steering would be nice

#6 mswill OFFLINE  

mswill
  • Member
  • Member No: 84963
  • 5 Thanks
  • 5 posts
  • Location: NW PA

Posted November 16, 2016 - 02:10 PM

Also..one more question please... the hydro control lever,,, should it hold in the float position?? Mine seems to try,, but come back with the slightest movement

#7 crittersf1 OFFLINE  

crittersf1

    GT Lunatic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 26142
  • 4,195 Thanks
  • 5,791 posts
  • Location: Newport, N.C.

Posted November 16, 2016 - 02:12 PM

:welcometogttalk: :camera:



#8 oldedeeres OFFLINE  

oldedeeres
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 14008
  • 8,526 Thanks
  • 4,393 posts
  • Location: Rivers End, Saskatchewan

Posted November 16, 2016 - 03:48 PM

Welcome aboard!

#9 Cat385B ONLINE  

Cat385B

    HAZMAT CAT

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8002
  • 13,374 Thanks
  • 9,735 posts
  • Location: MN

Posted November 16, 2016 - 04:12 PM

Less questions, more pictures!!!!!

#10 mswill OFFLINE  

mswill
  • Member
  • Member No: 84963
  • 5 Thanks
  • 5 posts
  • Location: NW PA

Posted November 16, 2016 - 04:17 PM

Lol.. I can't seem to figure out how to post any pics

#11 boyscout862 ONLINE  

boyscout862
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8923
  • 11,997 Thanks
  • 8,781 posts
  • Location: N.E. Connecticut

Posted November 16, 2016 - 05:07 PM

Welcome to GTT. Check out our Manuals Section for the info you want. Good Luck, Rick



#12 shorty ONLINE  

shorty

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6172
  • 4,909 Thanks
  • 4,965 posts
  • Location: Lancaster County Pa

Posted November 16, 2016 - 05:08 PM

Also..one more question please... the hydro control lever,,, should it hold in the float position?? Mine seems to try,, but come back with the slightest movement

If it isn't set right it will hit the cover before getting to where it holds. Even then a tap of a finger can pop it back to the hold position.
  • mswill said thank you

#13 Gillis.jim ONLINE  

Gillis.jim
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 79834
  • 284 Thanks
  • 162 posts
  • Location: NB, Canada

Posted November 16, 2016 - 08:33 PM

If it isn't set right it will hit the cover before getting to where it holds. Even then a tap of a finger can pop it back to the hold position.

Mine was doing that too! Found two loose nuts on the valve body holding it to the control box so I tightened those up.

I've also had to make some adjustments by loosening those bolts and moving the valve back a bit.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  • mswill said thank you

#14 mswill OFFLINE  

mswill
  • Member
  • Member No: 84963
  • 5 Thanks
  • 5 posts
  • Location: NW PA

Posted November 17, 2016 - 10:24 AM

Less questions, more pictures!!!!!

Got some pics uploaded in my Gallery


  • Cat385B said thank you




Top