16 replies to this topic

#1 ndjd316 OFFLINE  

ndjd316

• Member No: 3320
  • 0 Thanks
  • 10 posts

Posted May 30, 2011 - 04:45 PM

Hey guys,

Looking for a little help. I have decided to buy a new garden tractor and would like some advice. I mow about 3.5 - 4 acres of lawn. Most is old pasture that I have been mowing for around 15 years. It is bumpy but in nice shape. It gets thicker every year and I currently use a 13 hp Honda H5013. The 13hp is a dog in thick grass, I need something with more hp and rpm. I have been looking on line and have almost settled on the Cub Cadet LTX1050. Looking to spend around $2000, any advice from the crew would be great.

By the way I picked the Cub Cadet do to its reputation and that I used to own a 1970 Cub Cadet 105 that was the wifes grandpas. What a solid built machine.

Thanks for any advice.

#2 ndjd316 OFFLINE  

ndjd316

• 0 Thanks
  • 10 posts

Posted May 30, 2011 - 05:15 PM

Also woundering which engine is better the Kohler or the Kawasaki?

#3 KIRO-1 OFFLINE  

KIRO-1

Tractorholic

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 2451
  • 40 Thanks
  • 300 posts

Posted May 30, 2011 - 05:53 PM

Kohler! Just my opinion though. Can't tell you much about the 1050LTX. Sorry.

#4 hydriv OFFLINE  

hydriv

Tractorholic

• Validating
  • Member No: 256
  • 70 Thanks
  • 583 posts

Posted May 30, 2011 - 06:04 PM

Sorry to have to tell you this but you are barking up the wrong tree. Grandpa's 105 CC was an excellent built GT but a 1000 Series CC is nothing more than a cheap-ass lawn tractor made by MTD, who bought the Cub Cadet company many years ago.