Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay

Photo
- - - - -

NEW to Bolens and to restoring a tractor (newbie)

bolens 800 husky restoration newbie

• Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 Jarrett OFFLINE  

Jarrett
  • Member No: 85164
  • 27 Thanks
  • 12 posts

Posted November 07, 2016 - 07:41 PM

Hello all!!! My name is Jarrett. I am NEW to all of this ...all of this meaning.. restoring a tractor and to the forum. My short explanation is we acquired this Bolens  Husky 800 ( 64'-65') with a Wisconsin s-8d  from what i found out  from my research and engine plate. we got this tractor from its original owner who was a neighbor/ friend of mines grandpa who sadly passed this year. He gave us the bolens along with the blade deck( needs some work) , snow blower and plow attachments around 10-15 years ago. We would use it every so often to push some snow , move some things around and to aerate the lawn with holes. We really didn't use it much and it ended up sitting for a while. Every coupe of years  we would start it back up use it once or twice and let the same thing happen again. Its been a dream of mine to restore it ( not to the point of show but just to keep this master piece going for as long as i can and to use). We haven't started it in at least 3 years. So finally i made the move.  I pulled it out of the outgrowing woods with vines that stated to wrap around it and cut the beauty free. I drained out the gas and added fresh gas , a new spark plug and starter belt/generation belt? if thats what its called. i had the oem one that was broken so i went to napa and got another oem one for it. Next i hooked up a battery to try and jump her and she turned but wouldnt turn over. Years ago my father was telling me the carb was sucking some air so my thinking is that gasket is shot after sitting for so long and the fuel isn't getting up to the plug (the plug seems dry for the most part after i try to start it. My first move is i ordered a carb kit (LQ52) to see if t