Jump to content

Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Engine swap commences....few questions...


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 DZG OFFLINE  

DZG
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 84305
  • 607 Thanks
  • 525 posts
  • Location: hudson mi

Posted October 24, 2016 - 02:10 PM

Finally got around to yanking the motor on my LT8...

20161024_145436.jpghow to print screen on pc

This is swap #2 in this tractor, i ripped the 8hp years ago to put an 11hp in, which promptly seized...so the 11 is get replaced with this...

20161024_145736.jpgimage upload no limit

Anyways, the thing fits like a glove, except on the starter side of the motor theres 2 pigtails on the new motor, the tractor, and old motor only had one, one pigtail had a female end, the other male, the tractor has a female, so i plugged the male one in, but im not sure what to do with the other??

Also, where can i find a larger pulley for the motor?

Thanks in advance
  • Traill95 said thank you

#2 tater195 OFFLINE  

tater195

    I dont deny your history..... dont deny mine

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 62468
  • 2,032 Thanks
  • 1,349 posts

Posted October 24, 2016 - 02:18 PM

I believe one is for the stator/ charging system and the other is for the anti backfire solenoid on the carb. I have not played with the ohvs that much, so I could be wrong. Some have a 2 circuit stator, 1 for charging the battery and 1 for running the lights



#3 DZG OFFLINE  

DZG
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 84305
  • 607 Thanks
  • 525 posts
  • Location: hudson mi

Posted October 24, 2016 - 02:53 PM

I did trace the wire and atleast one runs to the anti backfire solenoid. It should run with that unhooked shouldnt it?

#4 tater195 OFFLINE  

tater195

    I dont deny your history..... dont deny mine

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 62468
  • 2,032 Thanks
  • 1,349 posts

Posted October 24, 2016 - 02:58 PM

Nope.

you can A) run a hot wire from the starter switch B) install an old style bowl screw or C) cut the tip off and put it back in.

If you go with option A make sure you have 12V while cranking, it wont start if you dont.



#5 DZG OFFLINE  

DZG
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 84305
  • 607 Thanks
  • 525 posts
  • Location: hudson mi

Posted October 24, 2016 - 05:39 PM

Nope.
you can A) run a hot wire from the starter switch B) install an old style bowl screw or C) cut the tip off and put it back in.
If you go with option A make sure you have 12V while cranking, it wont start if you dont.


Im thinking switching to the old style bowl would work best, im guessing its a easy swap? Just pull and replace?

This is my first rodeo with electronic garbage




Top