• Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 js5020 ONLINE  

js5020

• Member No: 7086
  • 541 Thanks
  • 677 posts

Posted October 10, 2016 - 04:57 PM

I have a 70's coachman camper that needs scrapped or used for another purpose.  The obvious, or so I think is to remove the camper part and repurpose the trailer frame.  Said trailer looks to be in the area of an 8x18, tandem axle with brakes.  Frame is 2x3 or 2x4 steel tube with a few thin formed crossmembers and a formed C channel tongue, tires are 15" and has electric brakes.  The frame is totally solid, tires would need replaced, no clue what the brakes look like. I'm not looking to make a dozer trailer here just haul around 3 or 4 ATVs. I have read a few places that these trailers once the camper part is removed are pretty weak and flimsy?  I'm no engineering expert but I would think with the addition of more crossmembers and a 2x deck, this thing would be more than adequate to haul a few ATVs?  Opinions?

• Mark 149 J. said thank you

#2 Username OFFLINE  

Username

• Member No: 2568
  • 2,065 Thanks
  • 1,425 posts

Posted October 10, 2016 - 05:36 PM

My friend has one that he has been using to haul cars and trucks around for years with no problems.You might run into issues trying to get it weight certified.

• js5020 said thank you

#3 MiCarl ONLINE  

MiCarl
  • Member No: 75926
  • 852 Thanks
  • 489 posts

Posted October 10, 2016 - 05:37 PM

I don't know anything about the frame but I did some repairs on a 1985 travel trailer.  I can tell you that there is no way that the structure was giving any reinforcement to the frame.

• js5020 said thank you

#4 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,401 Thanks
  • 1,534 posts

Posted October 10, 2016 - 06:00 PM

They build them into flatbeds all the time up here, not for me, but to each there own.

• js5020 said thank you

#5 petrj6 ONLINE  

petrj6
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 53717
  • 3,808 Thanks