• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Arjay OFFLINE  

Arjay
  • Member No: 84695
  • 16 Thanks
  • 16 posts

Posted September 25, 2016 - 01:21 PM

Kohler k301, new fuel filter, new coil, new points & condenser, new plug, pulled head and hand lapped valves and cylinder head this morning, installed be head gasket and adjust valve, set the carb the best I know how ( I'm a diesel mechanic by trade) and this is how it runs? But it started good and seems to have great power?

#2 Arjay OFFLINE  

Arjay
  • 16 Thanks
  • 16 posts

Posted September 25, 2016 - 01:24 PM

It will not allow me to post the video?

Attached Thumbnails

• Screenshot_2016-09-25-14-24-04.png

#3 dodge trucker ONLINE  

dodge trucker
  • Member No: 19314
  • 1,437 Thanks
  • 1,895 posts

Posted September 25, 2016 - 01:28 PM

"book" carb settings are  only regarded as starting points, you gotta adjust them as you go, as you use the machine.

#4 boyscout862 ONLINE  

boyscout862
  • Member No: 8923
  • 9,742 Thanks
  • 7,514 posts

Posted September 25, 2016 - 02:10 PM

We have and excellant Kohler Shop Manual in our Manuals Section. Good Luck, Rick
  • Arjay said thank you

#5 Arjay OFFLINE  

Arjay
  • 16 Thanks
  • 16 posts

Posted September 25, 2016 - 02:14 PM

Can anyone help with a video upload? The carb don't appear to be the issue I believe I may have a valve sticking just wanted a few opinions?

#6 classic ONLINE  

classic
  • Member No: 52970
  • 3,446 Thanks
  • 1,597 posts

Posted September 25, 2016 - 03:28 PM

I have a Kohler K321 on a 1971 Cub Cadet. No matter what I did, I could not get the Carter #30 carb to run right. I rebuilt the carb and no change, so I suspected that the play in the throttle shaft may be the problem. I put a different Carter #30 carb that I new worked perfect through all rpm ranges and the engine ran perfectly. I'm not saying that this is your problem, but make sure that your carburetor is in good working order.
  • Arjay said thank you