Jump to content

Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Volt meter


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 CraftsmanGT ONLINE  

CraftsmanGT
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 67395
  • 221 Thanks
  • 262 posts
  • Location: Deer Park WI.

Posted September 15, 2016 - 06:53 PM

Need a hand hooking up a volt meter in place of the ammeter on my Bolens 1000. Thanks.

#2 ol' stonebreaker OFFLINE  

ol' stonebreaker
  • Validating
  • Member No: 12515
  • 1,689 Thanks
  • 1,148 posts
  • Location: idaho

Posted September 15, 2016 - 07:40 PM

  Connect the two wires that went to the ammeter together, else it won't charge the batt. If it is an inductive ammeter just cut the coil the the wire runs thru off it  You can run a small wire from the switch or the + batt post to get 12 volts to the voltmeter and make sure the meter has a good ground.

                                     Mike 


Edited by ol' stonebreaker, September 15, 2016 - 07:43 PM.

  • CraftsmanGT said thank you

#3 larrybl OFFLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 6,746 Thanks
  • 4,295 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted September 15, 2016 - 07:43 PM

Like said above.... Twist Amp meter wires together, Connect the Volt meter + there, and the Volt meter - to ground.

 

               | Where the Amp meter was.

               v

 

Batt ------X------ Charge

               |

               |  Volt Meter +

             (V)

               |   Volt Meter -

               |

        Ground


Edited by larrybl, September 15, 2016 - 07:46 PM.

  • CraftsmanGT and crazy4bolens have said thanks

#4 CraftsmanGT ONLINE  

CraftsmanGT
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 67395
  • 221 Thanks
  • 262 posts
  • Location: Deer Park WI.

Posted September 15, 2016 - 08:17 PM

Tried that and it works but is always reading, tried the ground to the key switch and nothing

#5 CraftsmanGT ONLINE  

CraftsmanGT
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 67395
  • 221 Thanks
  • 262 posts
  • Location: Deer Park WI.

Posted September 15, 2016 - 08:19 PM

GB-Bolens-TubeFrame-600-8-9-1000-Elect-Dia.gif

#6 MiCarl OFFLINE  

MiCarl
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 75926
  • 1,817 Thanks
  • 980 posts
  • Location: Livonia, MI

Posted September 15, 2016 - 08:35 PM

The diagram you posted has no place for a switched volt meter.  You need a switched (+) on the ignition switch.

 

In this diagram the only switched lead is the ground to kill the ignition.


  • CraftsmanGT said thank you

#7 larrybl OFFLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 6,746 Thanks
  • 4,295 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted September 15, 2016 - 08:38 PM

That is a funky diagram. Any info on the key switch connector?



#8 larrybl OFFLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 6,746 Thanks
  • 4,295 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted September 15, 2016 - 08:42 PM

I like making reasonable modifications, but some times it is best to stay with the original configuration.



#9 ol' stonebreaker OFFLINE  

ol' stonebreaker
  • Validating
  • Member No: 12515
  • 1,689 Thanks
  • 1,148 posts
  • Location: idaho

Posted September 15, 2016 - 09:26 PM

  With the meter reading all the time I imagine it would take a loooong time to run the batt down.

                                                Mike



#10 CraftsmanGT ONLINE  

CraftsmanGT
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 67395
  • 221 Thanks
  • 262 posts
  • Location: Deer Park WI.

Posted September 15, 2016 - 09:33 PM

It's a two prong on/off.

#11 larrybl OFFLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 6,746 Thanks
  • 4,295 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted September 15, 2016 - 09:37 PM

It's a two prong on/off.

What does it turn on and off?



#12 Bruce Dorsi ONLINE  

Bruce Dorsi

    Old, but not dead -- yet!

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1525
  • 3,906 Thanks
  • 2,448 posts
  • Location: New Jersey

Posted September 15, 2016 - 09:54 PM

I believe the original switch had only one terminal. 

 

A wire from the ignition primary is connected to the switch terminal.

 

In the "ON" position there is no continuity between the terminal and the switch case.

 

In the "OFF" position, the terminal is connected to the switch case which is grounded, shorting the ignition primary to ground.


  • CraftsmanGT said thank you

#13 larrybl OFFLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 6,746 Thanks
  • 4,295 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted September 15, 2016 - 10:00 PM

Then to add the volt meter as previously discussed you will need to add a on/off switch to the meter to turn it off.



#14 ol' stonebreaker OFFLINE  

ol' stonebreaker
  • Validating
  • Member No: 12515
  • 1,689 Thanks
  • 1,148 posts
  • Location: idaho

Posted September 15, 2016 - 10:11 PM

  Unless you're concerned about keeping things original you could install a GT ignition switch that would ground the mag when turned off and furnish power to the meter when turned on. Or as Larry said install a toggle switch for the meter and it won't hurt a thing if you forget to turn it on.

                                            Mike


  • CraftsmanGT said thank you

#15 MiCarl OFFLINE  

MiCarl
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 75926
  • 1,817 Thanks
  • 980 posts
  • Location: Livonia, MI

Posted September 16, 2016 - 06:38 AM

I can see one other option:

 

Replace the ammeter with a diode and hook the volt meter to the "B" terminal on the voltage regulator.  The problem is this set up would only show you charging voltage, when the engine isn't running (or if the charging system fails) it'll just read 0.  It wouldn't tell you anything about the condition of the battery.


Edited by MiCarl, September 16, 2016 - 06:39 AM.

  • CraftsmanGT said thank you




Top