• Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 Berry OFFLINE  

Berry

• Member No: 3616
  • 0 Thanks
  • 19 posts

Posted May 24, 2011 - 06:54 PM

Hello and this is my first time posting and new to the site. I have a Toro WH 266H Garden Tractor. My normal procedure for starting is choke and full throttle. As it starts to warm shut the choke down and all is well. The problem now is she will start normally but within seconds the power will decrease. If I start to engage the choke again and mess with the throttle she acts like she wants to run but will eventually shut down. This all happened about a week ago when I mowed the back forty for about 2 hours brought it up to pull it into my shed and I shut her down to cool off a little. Went to start it about hour later and had the symptoms that I described in the beginning.
Thanks for your help and suggestions in advance!

#2 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,657 Thanks
  • 29,842 posts

Posted May 24, 2011 - 07:01 PM

Put on an inline spark tester. When she begins to die, watch to see if there is still spark. Could be an ignition coil, or module going bad. If there is still spark, it's likely in the fuel system. But first, check for the spark.

#3 Berry OFFLINE  

Berry

• 0 Thanks
  • 19 posts

Posted May 24, 2011 - 07:14 PM

Put on an inline spark tester. When she begins to die, watch to see if there is still spark. Could be an ignition coil, or module going bad. If there is still spark, it's likely in the fuel system. But first, check for the spark.

Thanks I will try that. I had new coils put on a couple of years ago but nothing last forever. What module are you referring to?

#4 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,657 Thanks
  • 29,842 posts