Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

782 KT17 Series 1 to Series 2 engine swap


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Schwarzkopf9 OFFLINE  

Schwarzkopf9
  • Member
  • Member No: 84559
  • 35 Thanks
  • 32 posts
  • Location: MN

Posted September 08, 2016 - 04:26 PM

Hey guys, I just got my grandpas old 79 or 80 (?) 782 recently. After finally getting it running after sitting for a while (7 years), I am unimpressed with the engine. It has a rather loud knock and spews smoke. So, its a rebuild. My question is, would it be worth the rebuild of the series one that is on it, or would it be worth the time/money to repower it with a series 2? There is a series 2 for sale near me that may need a rebuild and came out of a John Deer - he wants 400$ for it. Runs but doesn't run pretty. Does anyone know how/if it would swap over to my 782? Hoping for plug and play install but, I don't really know. Thanks!!



#2 KennyP OFFLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,394 Thanks
  • 39,654 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted September 08, 2016 - 04:50 PM

:wave: Welcome to the forum! That should be a plug and play swap. What is the series 2 doing?



#3 Schwarzkopf9 OFFLINE  

Schwarzkopf9
  • Member
  • Member No: 84559
  • 35 Thanks
  • 32 posts
  • Location: MN

Posted September 08, 2016 - 05:40 PM

says wont hold rpm. Carburetor? Vac leak perhaps? hard to tell...heres the link;

 

http://stcloud.craig...5754673564.html


  • KennyP said thank you

#4 KennyP OFFLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,394 Thanks
  • 39,654 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted September 08, 2016 - 05:56 PM

That could be several things. I'm sure someone here can help you more than I can!



#5 aagitch OFFLINE  

aagitch
  • Member
  • Member No: 81045
  • 105 Thanks
  • 83 posts
  • Location: Paris, KY

Posted September 08, 2016 - 07:02 PM

The JD kohler would need the same shaft diameter and lenght for it to be a simple engine swap.


  • KennyP said thank you

#6 Schwarzkopf9 OFFLINE  

Schwarzkopf9
  • Member
  • Member No: 84559
  • 35 Thanks
  • 32 posts
  • Location: MN

Posted September 08, 2016 - 07:25 PM

you mean the hydro driveshaft? or pto side?



#7 aagitch OFFLINE  

aagitch
  • Member
  • Member No: 81045
  • 105 Thanks
  • 83 posts
  • Location: Paris, KY

Posted September 09, 2016 - 01:42 AM

Pto side
  • KennyP said thank you

#8 olds45512 ONLINE  

olds45512
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 77943
  • 608 Thanks
  • 348 posts
  • Location: Indiana PA

Posted September 09, 2016 - 08:35 AM

Won't hold rpm could be the governor, if so the engine will need to come completely apart. I wouldnt pay that much for an engine with an unknown problem.

#9 crittersf1 OFFLINE  

crittersf1

    GT Lunatic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 26142
  • 4,167 Thanks
  • 5,759 posts
  • Location: Newport, N.C.

Posted September 09, 2016 - 02:14 PM

Won't hold rpm could be the governor, if so the engine will need to come completely apart. I wouldnt pay that much for an engine with an unknown problem.

You got that right



#10 Schwarzkopf9 OFFLINE  

Schwarzkopf9
  • Member
  • Member No: 84559
  • 35 Thanks
  • 32 posts
  • Location: MN

Posted September 09, 2016 - 05:47 PM

I agree with you there. I'm thinking Ill tear the engine I have apart and see what needs fixing, then Ill make a decision. Rebuild kits don't look that expensive for this this motor....






Top