Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay

Photo
- - - - -

Total noob looking for advice on what to buy.

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Mustard Tiger OFFLINE  

Mustard Tiger
  • Member No: 84537
  • 5 Thanks
  • 12 posts

Posted September 05, 2016 - 10:11 PM

I have 3 acres that are currently an overgrown field, and I'd like to get a little used tractor and put the land to use.  But I am a computer nerd and have no idea what I should be looking for.  I really want to be able to put a front end loader on it for moving dirt and manure around.  Other than that it would mainly be for mowing the grass in the summer and clearing snow in the winter.  I know my choice is limited to whatever people have for sale, but in general should I be aiming for an old garden tractor like a Ford LGT?  Or should I get something newer like the kubota tg1860 that seem to be coming up for sale daily?  I can't help but feel if I am paying $3000-$5000 that I may as well just get an old 50s or 60s row crop tractor instead?  Or am I just letting the "bigger is better" mentality get the better of me?

• oldedeeres said thank you

#2 shorty ONLINE  

shorty

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 6172
  • 3,577 Thanks
  • 3,958 posts

Posted September 06, 2016 - 04:38 AM

Welcome to GTtalk!
Bigger is better until you struggle to use it in the area you want to.
Your budget and how many attachments you might need will narrow the choices considerably. A bigger GT is most times limited to the manufacturer line of attachments. While a compact will accept many different manufacturer line of attachments.
  • boyscout862, oldedeeres and Mustard Tiger have said thanks

#3 old coot OFFLINE  

old coot
  • Member No: 54079
  • 46 Thanks
  • 44 posts

Posted September 06, 2016 - 04:46 AM