Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

A weakness in GT's


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 DL-North OFFLINE  

DL-North
  • Member
  • Member No: 78316
  • 50 Thanks
  • 85 posts
  • Location: MN

Posted August 10, 2016 - 09:33 AM

Guys, I've been thinking about this some lately and would like input.

 

How do you drive 2 attachments at the same time on these GT's?

 

For example, for summer use, the mower deck is on and operational, but what if you want to use a back blade or tiller without removing the deck?

 

Or winter use, main attachment is a front blower, maybe with or w/o hyd shoot activation, and a back blade for clean up scraping?

 

What do you guys do?

 

Dan

 



#2 Gtractor ONLINE  

Gtractor

    The Tractor Hoarder

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 782
  • 6,625 Thanks
  • 3,917 posts
  • Location: Chillicothe, MO

Posted August 10, 2016 - 09:41 AM

That's simple...

 

Buy more tractors.


  • Bolens 1000, Titus, boyscout862 and 3 others have said thanks

#3 Austen OFFLINE  

Austen
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 33768
  • 855 Thanks
  • 567 posts
  • Location: Kirkland, WA

Posted August 10, 2016 - 10:38 AM

It's really a matter of removing and reattaching the implements. For a lot of us, as Gtractor stated, have multiple machines for different uses.

 

The HTs did come with an optional 3 point hitch "lock-out" feature so that you could effectively have two attachments mounted at once but as I understand, it's somewhat of a rare thing to find on these.


Edited by Austen, August 10, 2016 - 11:05 AM.

  • Gtractor, LPBolens and Paulgo have said thanks

#4 boyscout862 ONLINE  

boyscout862
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 8923
  • 9,803 Thanks
  • 7,543 posts
  • Location: N.E. Connecticut

Posted August 10, 2016 - 10:43 AM

It depends on the tractor. One some you can chain the nonused attachment up, out of the way. I find it much easier to have attachments on tractors and just move my butt to the needed tractors' seat. Its also nice to have an extra tractor incase something breaks. Good Luck, Rick


  • Gtractor and HDWildBill have said thanks

#5 crittersf1 OFFLINE  

crittersf1

    GT Lunatic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 26142
  • 4,169 Thanks
  • 5,761 posts
  • Location: Newport, N.C.

Posted August 10, 2016 - 11:12 AM

MORE TRACTORS!!!


  • Gtractor and boyscout862 have said thanks

#6 toppop52 ONLINE  

toppop52
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 54420
  • 3,509 Thanks
  • 3,387 posts
  • Location: Lower Eastern Shore of Maryland

Posted August 10, 2016 - 11:24 AM

There is no one tractor that's best for everything.


  • boyscout862 said thank you

#7 DL-North OFFLINE  

DL-North
  • Member
  • Member No: 78316
  • 50 Thanks
  • 85 posts
  • Location: MN

Posted August 10, 2016 - 03:36 PM

Thanks - this is about what I thought but had to ask.

 

So what I hear you saying is that I should keep the Bolens G152 to go with the red "Bolens" GTX 20.

 

Dan 


  • boyscout862 said thank you

#8 KC9KAS OFFLINE  

KC9KAS
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10038
  • 4,783 Thanks
  • 4,303 posts
  • Location: Holland, IN

Posted August 10, 2016 - 03:47 PM

Multiple tractors with multiple attachments.

Surely one will start and run to do whatever job it was intended to do!

That is why I have 12 (or 13) I don't remember!


  • boyscout862 said thank you

#9 toppop52 ONLINE  

toppop52
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 54420
  • 3,509 Thanks
  • 3,387 posts
  • Location: Lower Eastern Shore of Maryland

Posted August 10, 2016 - 03:51 PM

I'm down to three, gotta restock!
  • MailmAn said thank you

#10 DL-North OFFLINE  

DL-North
  • Member
  • Member No: 78316
  • 50 Thanks
  • 85 posts
  • Location: MN

Posted August 10, 2016 - 10:03 PM

OK, so how about this?

 

Is there an easy/obvious way to run a set of aux hydr lines to the back of a Duratrac/GTX20?

They have them at the front, but need them at the back to operate another attachment.

 

Dan 



#11 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,303 Thanks
  • 28,628 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted August 10, 2016 - 10:06 PM

Sears lifts are separate.
You can't have the blower and deck at same time, but blower or blade and rear blade, no problem.
Clearance for the deck, not withstanding... A deck and tiller or back blade, no problem either.
  • DL-North said thank you

#12 DL-North OFFLINE  

DL-North
  • Member
  • Member No: 78316
  • 50 Thanks
  • 85 posts
  • Location: MN

Posted August 10, 2016 - 10:30 PM

What is a Sears lift?

 

And I'm not planning to keep the deck on in winter but

blower and rear blade, as the tractor is, they use the same lift cylinder. That's why the additional hyd lines. 

 

And the same with a deck and tiller or deck and back blade - as the tractor is designed, they use the same lift cyl.

and a deck and tiller, they both use the same drive shaft drive. 

??

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sears lifts are separate.
You can't have the blower and deck at same time, but blower or blade and rear blade, no problem.
Clearance for the deck, not withstanding... A deck and tiller or back blade, no problem either. 


#13 nyrobbie77 ONLINE  

nyrobbie77

    New Member

  • Member
  • Member No: 2163
  • 90 Thanks
  • 75 posts
  • Location: Arcade NY

Posted August 11, 2016 - 07:19 AM

OK, so how about this?

 

Is there an easy/obvious way to run a set of aux hydr lines to the back of a Duratrac/GTX20?

They have them at the front, but need them at the back to operate another attachment.

 

Dan 

you can run a second set of lines but unless you install another rock shaft your implements will still raise/lower at the same time. 



#14 DL-North OFFLINE  

DL-North
  • Member
  • Member No: 78316
  • 50 Thanks
  • 85 posts
  • Location: MN

Posted August 11, 2016 - 08:10 AM

The Duratrac/GTX20 has a second hydr circuit with ports at the front, just need to get them to the rear.



#15 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,303 Thanks
  • 28,628 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted August 11, 2016 - 11:21 AM

Sorry, I didn't see this was in Bolens, thought it was on the main forum.
Most of the Sears rear lifts are manual and not dependant on the rest of the tractor.




Top