Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Fuel shutoff question


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,391 Thanks
  • 1,526 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted August 02, 2016 - 04:18 PM

If a metal fuel shutoff leaks around the handle when open, could it let enough air into the system to keep the engine from starting?  In this case the shutoff is right by the carb on a Briggs and Stratton.


  • chieffan said thank you

#2 Bolens 1000 ONLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,668 Thanks
  • 17,196 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted August 02, 2016 - 04:38 PM

I wouldnt think so, the carb will stay full of gas either way.


  • chieffan said thank you

#3 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,391 Thanks
  • 1,526 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted August 02, 2016 - 05:16 PM

I wouldnt think so, the carb will stay full of gas either way.

I wasn't sure, I have seen cracked lines do what I thought this might.


  • chieffan said thank you

#4 John Arsenault OFFLINE  

John Arsenault
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 76279
  • 769 Thanks
  • 509 posts
  • Location: Maine

Posted August 02, 2016 - 05:55 PM

I wasn't sure, I have seen cracked lines do what I thought this might.

That depends on if there is a positive vacuum like a fuel pump would add. If its just gravity fed a crack line will just leak.  


  • adamjd200 and chieffan have said thanks

#5 chieffan ONLINE  

chieffan
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62695
  • 6,134 Thanks
  • 4,485 posts
  • Location: SW Iowa

Posted August 02, 2016 - 06:48 PM

I would thing a fuel shut off would want to be at the tank and not the carb.  If anything goes wrong between the shut off and the tank  your going to loose gas with the shut off at the barb.  Just my opinion.


  • adamjd200 said thank you

#6 John Arsenault OFFLINE  

John Arsenault
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 76279
  • 769 Thanks
  • 509 posts
  • Location: Maine

Posted August 02, 2016 - 06:53 PM

Depends on the set up, I have seen them under the tank, and yet just under the carb......I agree though directly under tank makes sense to me. 


  • adamjd200 said thank you

#7 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,391 Thanks
  • 1,526 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted August 02, 2016 - 07:30 PM

That depends on if there is a positive vacuum like a fuel pump would add. If its just gravity fed a crack line will just leak.  

 

I've had it happen on gravity feeds before, usually Briggs or Tech. engines.

I would thing a fuel shut off would want to be at the tank and not the carb.  If anything goes wrong between the shut off and the tank  your going to loose gas with the shut off at the barb.  Just my opinion.

This is on my Yazoo Red Rider, and the shutoff is literally threaded into the carb inlet, pain it the but.  As a side note, the tank is plastic.



#8 secondtry OFFLINE  

secondtry
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 83632
  • 336 Thanks
  • 316 posts
  • Location: Washington State

Posted August 02, 2016 - 11:02 PM

Many newer Honda engines have a fuel shutoff on the carb. The fuel shutoff is not generally intended to save you in case of neglected or destroyed fuel lines. It is to prevent filling the crankcase with gas in the event the float malfunctions. If a gravity feed system is sucking air there must be something wrong with gravity. Don


  • adamjd200 and propane1 have said thanks

#9 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,391 Thanks
  • 1,526 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted August 02, 2016 - 11:10 PM

Let me rephrase my earlier comment, I've had engines w/ gravity feed and bad lines refuse to start, when the fuel line was replaced it then started, usually bad around the ends, why it makes a difference idk., they weren't leaking severely either.


  • secondtry said thank you

#10 secondtry OFFLINE  

secondtry
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 83632
  • 336 Thanks
  • 316 posts
  • Location: Washington State

Posted August 03, 2016 - 12:55 AM

Let me rephrase my earlier comment, I've had engines w/ gravity feed and bad lines refuse to start, when the fuel line was replaced it then started, usually bad around the ends, why it makes a difference idk., they weren't leaking severely either.

     Old fuel lines come apart internally swell and cut off fuel flow, I have had that happen. When I need a 6" of fuel line I buy 10 feet. It never goes to waste.  Don


  • propane1 said thank you

#11 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,391 Thanks
  • 1,526 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted August 03, 2016 - 09:33 AM

     Old fuel lines come apart internally swell and cut off fuel flow, I have had that happen. When I need a 6" of fuel line I buy 10 feet. It never goes to waste.  Don

 I buy it by the 25ft roll, cheaper and I use a lot of it.



#12 secondtry OFFLINE  

secondtry
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 83632
  • 336 Thanks
  • 316 posts
  • Location: Washington State

Posted August 03, 2016 - 10:17 AM

 I buy it by the 25ft roll, cheaper and I use a lot of it.

    I live in Washington State. Practically a different country. Could be I just don't shop at the right place but locally I have never seen it in a 25' roll Don



#13 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,391 Thanks
  • 1,526 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted August 03, 2016 - 03:44 PM

    I live in Washington State. Practically a different country. Could be I just don't shop at the right place but locally I have never seen it in a 25' roll Don

I buy mine on ebay, good quality gas line, and made in the USA!


  • secondtry said thank you

#14 Bolens 1000 ONLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,668 Thanks
  • 17,196 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted August 03, 2016 - 03:56 PM

    I live in Washington State. Practically a different country. Could be I just don't shop at the right place but locally I have never seen it in a 25' roll Don

 

I sell USA made line by the foot or by the box if you need any :wave:


  • secondtry said thank you

#15 secondtry OFFLINE  

secondtry
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 83632
  • 336 Thanks
  • 316 posts
  • Location: Washington State

Posted August 03, 2016 - 07:08 PM

I sell USA made line by the foot or by the box if you need any :wave:

     Recently stocked up but I will keep you in mind. Don






Top