Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Replacement throttle cable


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Phluphy OFFLINE  

Phluphy
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 70148
  • 308 Thanks
  • 401 posts
  • Location: Central Gulf Coast Florida

Posted July 18, 2016 - 01:35 PM

A-typical, I figured this would be readily available in bulk form from local NAPA etc., not happening.

Anyone know where I can get throttle cable in bulk form i.e. by the foot so I can make my own?

This is for a Craftsman II 18hp. B&S opposed twin.

Thanks in advance.


  • MilaLove70 said thank you

#2 larrybl ONLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,953 Thanks
  • 3,326 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted July 18, 2016 - 01:40 PM

Tractor Supply. http://www.tractorsu...it?cm_vc=-10005

Just need to use the cable from this and crimp on to yours.


  • Phluphy said thank you

#3 larrybl ONLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,953 Thanks
  • 3,326 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted July 18, 2016 - 01:43 PM

This works for the Choke cable, just need to change / paint the knob. http://www.tractorsu...66?cm_vc=IOPDP1


  • Phluphy said thank you

#4 larrybl ONLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,953 Thanks
  • 3,326 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted July 18, 2016 - 01:46 PM

Look around here also. http://www.jackssmal...rottle-Controls


  • Phluphy said thank you

#5 Phluphy OFFLINE  

Phluphy
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 70148
  • 308 Thanks
  • 401 posts
  • Location: Central Gulf Coast Florida

Posted July 18, 2016 - 01:55 PM

Tractor Supply. http://www.tractorsu...it?cm_vc=-10005

Just need to use the cable from this and crimp on to yours.

Called TS near here. They asked "for what?", I told them and was informed they do not sell lawn mower parts like those. 

Thanks. You've steered me in a direction anyway.  I'll take the old one with me and go looking on my own. Has to be a fit-em-all somewhere.



#6 Bolens 1000 ONLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,692 Thanks
  • 17,206 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted July 18, 2016 - 03:11 PM

Your looking in the wrong place, I sell the cable and inner wire by the foot :thumbs:


  • KennyP and Phluphy have said thanks

#7 dodge trucker ONLINE  

dodge trucker
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 19314
  • 1,440 Thanks
  • 1,897 posts
  • Location: kankakee

Posted July 18, 2016 - 03:21 PM

I don't have a TSC within 50 mi of here but I have seen that particular throttle cable around. I have also seen that some of the online small engine parts places do offer that cable and its conduit by the foot but I think you gotta get like 50' to get any!
Bolens guy here in above post would probably be a better way.

#8 Buck Tales OFFLINE  

Buck Tales
  • Member
  • Member No: 73140
  • 150 Thanks
  • 94 posts
  • Location: New Jersey

Posted July 18, 2016 - 08:07 PM

Bolens has it for sure. I got stuck one day and didn't have time to order and wait so I was able to use some mig wire from my shop. As long as you don't use flux core but the solid wire your good. It bends and works kind of well and my "quick fix" is still operational after a year of service. :) 



#9 Phluphy OFFLINE  

Phluphy
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 70148
  • 308 Thanks
  • 401 posts
  • Location: Central Gulf Coast Florida

Posted July 18, 2016 - 09:41 PM

Your looking in the wrong place, I sell the cable and inner wire by the foot :thumbs:

Will be sending you an IM soon.  :thumbs:



#10 Phluphy OFFLINE  

Phluphy
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 70148
  • 308 Thanks
  • 401 posts
  • Location: Central Gulf Coast Florida

Posted July 18, 2016 - 09:50 PM

After nearly an hour of, "I'm going to get this thing yet.", I finally got the cable freed. Don't know what it was, appeared to be fine wire and paper, similar to a bread wrapper twist-tie between coils of the cable. Not much, but enough.

It moves freely now, eh, a slight bit of resistance, but nothing I can't live with, thinking I may have whacked it bit too firmly with the hammer a couple times. Eh, if all else fails, get a hammer. :D

Thanks for the heads-up Bolens1000, 



#11 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,461 Thanks
  • 39,690 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted July 19, 2016 - 05:04 AM

I have been able to free some cables by bending some and putting a little Acetone & ATF on there. Let it set for a while and they sometimes loosen up.

 

I have bought the cables from Bolens1000 and am very happy with that purchase.






Top