Jump to content

Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

pto switch


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 fordman_19912000 OFFLINE  

fordman_19912000
  • Member
  • Member No: 55241
  • 15 Thanks
  • 40 posts
  • Location: mt morris pa

Posted July 13, 2016 - 07:11 PM

hello I have a craftsman II 917.255913 it will not start but if you wiggle the pto switch it will sometimes start does anyone know what wires to jump to make this thing start and run I have no deck or even a pto clutch attached so I don't need to buy the switch for it just want to jump the switch out so I can start and run it I don't want to cut the harness if I can help it thanks Jason



#2 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 35,059 Thanks
  • 44,081 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted July 13, 2016 - 07:35 PM

Here's a diagram of a tractor that yours should be the same as. Not only is the PTO switch in line to the solenoid, but you have a clutch/brake pedal switch in there also. Best to check both.

Attached Thumbnails

  • ScreenShot013.jpg


#3 grattone OFFLINE  

grattone
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 66237
  • 309 Thanks
  • 219 posts
  • Location: Stanleytown, Va.

Posted July 13, 2016 - 08:07 PM

Try disconnecting the red wire coming off the Ing. switch going to the relay coil (# 85) with the seat switch.



#4 grattone OFFLINE  

grattone
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 66237
  • 309 Thanks
  • 219 posts
  • Location: Stanleytown, Va.

Posted July 13, 2016 - 08:11 PM

If that doesn't work jumper the white wires on the PTO switch that would get it out of the start circuit.


  • fordman_19912000 said thank you

#5 fordman_19912000 OFFLINE  

fordman_19912000
  • Member
  • Member No: 55241
  • 15 Thanks
  • 40 posts
  • Location: mt morris pa

Posted July 13, 2016 - 08:19 PM

ok thanks its the pto for sure the seat switch and clutch switch are good I have no connections at the pto switch unless I wiggle the switch it was rusted solid and I had to mess with it and it started acting like this lol  I will try the jumpering of the white wires in the morning thanks



#6 larrybl ONLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 6,511 Thanks
  • 4,172 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted July 14, 2016 - 10:06 AM

If you are comfortable with wiring a 20A DPST (Double pole - Single Throw) switch can be used. If you don't want to cut the wires, then you will need this. Part 4021J.

http://www.searspart...ch.html?q=4021j






Top