• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 tom tractor OFFLINE  

tom tractor
  • Member No: 51604
  • 182 Thanks
  • 194 posts

Posted July 07, 2016 - 08:18 PM

I am the new owner of a Case 446. A few questions? My 446 says to use regular grade gas - NOT premium grade gas. It that for gas sold in 1984 or now.

SHOULD I USE REGULAR OR HIGH TEST?

What does a rear Hydrolic PTO sell for? How much is it worth?

Is the carb on the 16 hp, b43m the same as the b43g, 18hp Onan?

Thank you in advance!

Attached Thumbnails

• image.jpg

Edited by tom tractor, July 07, 2016 - 08:19 PM.

• Oldford said thank you

#2 Oldford OFFLINE  

Oldford
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 50409
  • 802 Thanks
  • 572 posts

Posted July 07, 2016 - 09:07 PM

I use mid-grade.  I have heard that low test is often thinned out with junk, and hi test could make the engine run hot.  I'm no gas expert but i haven't had any engine trouble in the last 10 or so years. most of my tractors have been older than yours but no onans. also marine stabil and mmo for small engines just my .02.

The rear pto usually sells for around 150 here in maine.  a guy has been trying to sell one for 200 for a couple years now.  That would include the 2 hard lines, which are for a "long frame" if anybody asks.

That white seat might be worth something if it has no rips.  a ripped one sold on ebay for 20 bucks a while back but if no rips a collector would pay more.  one year only on the black frame tractor.  implements were also white if you are into the collector thing.

usually carbs get bigger as horsepower increases but i have no idea on yours.  i'm sure somebody else does tho.  nice lookin tractor btw

Edited by Oldford, July 07, 2016 - 09:16 PM.

• tom tractor said thank you

#3 boyscout862 ONLINE  

boyscout862
  • Member No: 8923
  • 9,804 Thanks
  • 7,545 posts

Posted July 08, 2016 - 01:10 AM

Regular from a good gas station with Marvel Mystery Oil added. Good Luck, Rick

#4 tom tractor OFFLINE