• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 newcaseowner OFFLINE  

newcaseowner
  • Member No: 74336
  • 22 Thanks
  • 21 posts

Posted July 02, 2016 - 04:19 PM

i rebuilt my k241 because it was burning oil.

it was running great every thing i did was by the kohler repair manual.

piston clearance is .0075 - ring gap .010 - rod clearance .001 - engine is full of straight 30 weight oil right at the full mark and timing was set with a timing light .

after a total of 4 hours running as near as i can tell the rod seized to the crankshaft.

i was cutting my lawn a 3 hour job it slowed down and quit right after it started blow huge amounts of white smoke out of the crankcase breather.

the rod is a saint bird brand do you guys think it was a bad rod to begin with as i have never worked with that brand rod before.

the rod was installed with match marks together and oil hole toward the camshaft as per manual.

block was cleaned well before assembly to remove grit from honing

the rod is .020 under as the crank needed to be turned down to .020 under .

ideas guys the more the better.

• MH81, Auburn David, Mark 149 J. and 1 other said thanks

#2 HANKG ONLINE  

HANKG
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 29484
  • 4,886 Thanks
  • 2,793 posts

Posted July 02, 2016 - 04:29 PM

Sheet happens, could very well be a faulty part, sounds like you know what your doing.

#3 boyscout862 OFFLINE  

boyscout862
  • Member No: 8923
  • 9,772 Thanks
  • 7,538 posts

Posted July 02, 2016 - 04:30 PM

Did you use plastigauge? Did you over torque and then retorque because it is a new rod? Did you change the oil after the first 1/2 hour? Post some postmortem pics. Good Luck, Rick

#4 powerstroker00 OFFLINE  

powerstroker00

• Member No: 8405
  • 669 Thanks
  • 332 posts

Posted July 02, 2016 - 04:57 PM

Been there done that. What I figured out was that I used the wrong torque specs on the rod. Mine lasted about 5 minutes. It was the first one I had rebuilt.