Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

318 Hydro Trans Fluid level check and fluid type


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Jehtro OFFLINE  

Jehtro

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 3300
  • 109 Thanks
  • 276 posts
  • Location: St. Marys, Ontario, Canada

Posted May 13, 2011 - 10:22 AM

Hello all, just got my first garden tractor, I got a JD 318 at auction.

Seems to work ok, but I think the Hydro fluid is down.

Theres a clear tube "spyglass" on the back of the axle, and I assume the oil level should show in there? Its not right now. Is that correct? and what type of fluid do I put in it?

Anyone with experience with a 318 comments would be appeciated.

My nearest JD dealer is 30mins away, so I hoping theres a standard oil I can put in it?

Thanks,

#2 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,559 Thanks
  • 29,818 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted May 13, 2011 - 10:33 AM

Yep, just use Dexron III ATF.
  • middleageddeere said thank you

#3 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted May 13, 2011 - 10:45 AM

Jethro, Welcome to the site. If it has JD. hydro fluid in it, brownish green in color, I would stay with JD hydro. If the fluid is red, I would add ATF fluid. I never mix the 2 different fluids, but that just me. Either one will work just find, when I change the hydro fluid on my own, that I'm not planning on selling, I use ATF when I change the fluid and filter. Daniel has a lot more experience with these hydro's, and if he says you can mix them, then I'm sure that it is ok....Post some pictures sometime.. Thanks for joining..

#4 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,559 Thanks
  • 29,818 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted May 13, 2011 - 10:51 AM

I didn't think of the JD oil possibly still being in there, but I have mixed them with no problems whatsoever & have a blend in my JD F935 right now, and it's been mixed for like 2 to 3 years. That said, I won't recommend mixing.

#5 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted May 13, 2011 - 10:54 AM

jehtro,welcome to the forum,glad to have you with us.

#6 Jehtro OFFLINE  

Jehtro

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 3300
  • 109 Thanks
  • 276 posts
  • Location: St. Marys, Ontario, Canada

Posted May 13, 2011 - 11:59 AM

So is that tub coming of the axle with the glass part in it how I check the fluid level? I can't see anything in the tube. The hydro seems to work fine, but I guessing its low.

I'll have to take a picture and post it,

thanks again for the replies, I've always wanted a "garden tractor" and not a lawn mower, but its a whole new world of maintenance with this.

#7 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,559 Thanks
  • 29,818 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted May 13, 2011 - 12:35 PM

Yes, there should be a C bracket on the right side with the line going through it. Level anywhere within the bracket is proper level.

#8 Jehtro OFFLINE  

Jehtro

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 3300
  • 109 Thanks
  • 276 posts
  • Location: St. Marys, Ontario, Canada

Posted May 13, 2011 - 08:05 PM

IMG00387.jpg This must be it? and I'm guess my hydro is low cause its not even visible? Geez, ah I guess I had to start somewhere,

#9 Jehtro OFFLINE  

Jehtro

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 3300
  • 109 Thanks
  • 276 posts
  • Location: St. Marys, Ontario, Canada

Posted May 13, 2011 - 08:07 PM

Heres a picture of the new purchase, Its huge compaired to my JD 185,
IMG00386.jpg

#10 middleageddeere OFFLINE  

middleageddeere

    Tacos!

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 2033
  • 243 Thanks
  • 1,082 posts
  • Location: MI

Posted May 13, 2011 - 08:13 PM

Yep, that is it and you are low but just a little. Nice tractor and welcome to the site!

#11 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,443 Thanks
  • 6,609 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted May 13, 2011 - 08:21 PM

You might want to change the transmission fluid & filter before you top off the level unless you know how long ago it was changed ,in the 1983 operators manual they want the fluid & filter changed 2 years or 500 hours and filter only every 100 hours , Al

#12 Jehtro OFFLINE  

Jehtro

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 3300
  • 109 Thanks
  • 276 posts
  • Location: St. Marys, Ontario, Canada

Posted May 13, 2011 - 09:40 PM

Okay, next question, where is the filter located? Is it hard to get to ?

I'm going to assume that everything has not been done.

I really want to keep this one for along time, there hard to get ahold of around here,

JK

#13 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,559 Thanks
  • 29,818 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted May 14, 2011 - 08:54 AM

The filter is on the front side of the hydro unit, near where the driveshaft from engine enters the hydro. Should be easy to change out.

#14 Gary400 OFFLINE  

Gary400

    JD,junkie

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2316
  • 225 Thanks
  • 768 posts
  • Location: North East Missouri

Posted May 14, 2011 - 12:28 PM

i keep my sight tube half full (between the metal brackets ) i only use JD fluids in mine and that reminds me i need to change my fluid and filter .thats a nice lookin tractor you have . they may not be as fast as the new mowers but they are built to last a life time .

#15 Jehtro OFFLINE  

Jehtro

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 3300
  • 109 Thanks
  • 276 posts
  • Location: St. Marys, Ontario, Canada

Posted May 15, 2011 - 09:38 PM

I don't care about speed, the neighbor has got a gt235 , which is much faster, funny thing he doesn't want to try a tug o war with the old 318.




Top