• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 WoodyChuck OFFLINE  

WoodyChuck
  • Member No: 83094
  • 14 Thanks
  • 26 posts

Posted May 26, 2016 - 04:21 PM

I am new to the world of tractors I'm 17 and want a good working tractor to cut grass plow snow ect. I got this tractor for free off my uncle and it was not running. I cleaned out the bowl and sprayed carb cleaner into it and got it "running". Well the problem is my uncle got it off a guy at a flea market and he's done some things to the tractor such as making his own muffler system, making a clutch rod (found this out the hard way) and welded the carb back together after it failed (yep found it out the hard way too). I got a new clutch rod made and am ordering a new carb but I wouldn't mind some advice on what I should do to get this tractor mechanically sound without doing more then what is needed.

Edited by WoodyChuck, May 26, 2016 - 04:23 PM.

• Mark 149 J. said thank you

#2 WoodyChuck OFFLINE  

WoodyChuck
  • 14 Thanks
  • 26 posts

Posted May 26, 2016 - 04:29 PM

Picture of tractor and the broken carb

Attached Thumbnails

• IMAG0183.jpg
  • IMAG0197.jpg

• Mark 149 J. said thank you

#3 boyscout862 ONLINE  

boyscout862
  • Member No: 8923
  • 9,769 Thanks
  • 7,536 posts

Posted May 26, 2016 - 05:15 PM

That is areally good tractor. You need to service it completely before running it. Otherwise you may do damage. Go to our Manuals Section and download the manuals that you need. There is an excellant kohler manual that will help with engine problems. I think that there is a shop manual for your tractor. Good Luck, Rick

Here is the Service Manual:  http://gardentractor...50-service-man/   As you work on it, ask us when you need a better explanation. Pics will help us understand the question.

Edited by boyscout862, May 26, 2016 - 05:23 PM.

• jpackard56 and WoodyChuck have said thanks

#4 dodge trucker OFFLINE  

dodge trucker
  • Member No: 19314
  • 1,439 Thanks
  • 1,896 posts