Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Big Surprise to Find Windows 10


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Sawdust OFFLINE  

Sawdust
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 36549
  • 4,523 Thanks
  • 2,831 posts
  • Location: Butler, Kentucky

Posted May 22, 2016 - 01:19 PM

Got on the computer & without any warning I now have Windows 10 instead of my ole faithful 7. They said everything is still here but where :smashing_pc: Problem now is the much needed sun shine is here & I can't sit & play with this thing. Just got over a four day rain period but no it had to happen now. I may be back later with some questions.


  • Texas Deere and Horse, hamman, Columbia236 and 1 other said thanks

#2 Gtractor ONLINE  

Gtractor

    The Tractor Hoarder

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 782
  • 6,624 Thanks
  • 3,917 posts
  • Location: Chillicothe, MO

Posted May 22, 2016 - 02:55 PM

Funny you had this happen today.  Few hours ago I was online between mowing and weed- eatin' and this thing just flipped out and started installing 10 all by itself.  I didn't ask it to or nutin!

When I saw what was going on I killed the surge protector/power strip and made it do a restart.  It specifically said NOT to do this so I figured that was the best thing to do.   When it rebooted I still have 7 and all seems well.  

Suppose next time it'll happen while I'm not here to stop it.  :(


  • Alc, hamman, KennyP and 3 others have said thanks

#3 adamjd200 OFFLINE  

adamjd200
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 39654
  • 1,396 Thanks
  • 1,532 posts
  • Location: central Ny

Posted May 22, 2016 - 03:02 PM

I finally got fed up with this Windows 10 crap and turned all of the auto update crap off, was trying to schedule me for an update every time I turned the computer on, but I thankfully stopped it.


  • Gtractor, hamman, KennyP and 2 others have said thanks

#4 hamman ONLINE  

hamman

    Homelite Owner Extraordinaire

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1733
  • 5,629 Thanks
  • 2,583 posts
  • Location: Michigan

Posted May 22, 2016 - 04:14 PM

Our son told us yesterday when he got home from work and turned his computer on it had Windows 10 instead of the 7 head in it. Happened over night. He says everything is there but not sure if he like 10. It keeps telling me it's available but I keep deleting it. I guess we will see.                                            Roger


  • Gtractor, KennyP, Columbia236 and 1 other said thanks

#5 truck21 OFFLINE  

truck21

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 2813
  • 431 Thanks
  • 254 posts
  • Location: Manheim Pa

Posted May 22, 2016 - 05:06 PM

   Same happened to me on two computers but so far i`m ok with 10


  • Gtractor, hamman, KennyP and 2 others have said thanks

#6 Columbia236 ONLINE  

Columbia236
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 23802
  • 294 Thanks
  • 108 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted May 22, 2016 - 05:57 PM

Bill needs the money  your going to get it if want it or not It`s been sniffing around me and I know my time is coming soon.


  • Gtractor, Alc, hamman and 2 others have said thanks

#7 Cat385B ONLINE  

Cat385B

    Therapy CAT

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8002
  • 11,737 Thanks
  • 8,912 posts
  • Location: MN

Posted May 22, 2016 - 05:59 PM

Mine flipped on Thursday morning. Like everything else in life, I'll get it figured out eventually.
  • Gtractor, hamman, KennyP and 1 other said thanks

#8 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,461 Thanks
  • 39,690 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted May 22, 2016 - 06:46 PM

It's been trying here, but after the last episode, don't think I want it.


  • hamman and Sawdust have said thanks

#9 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted May 22, 2016 - 07:06 PM

It's been trying to get on mine for a while, but I haven't gotten any update notices

for 3 or 4 days, UNTIL just now.

I had read through this thread about an hour ago, went for dinner, and when I came

back, there where 2 Win10 notices on my screen.

That's freaky. Is the site bugged? Is there any way that can even be possible?

Or coincidence? I hope.


Edited by IamSherwood, May 23, 2016 - 07:09 AM.

  • hamman and Sawdust have said thanks

#10 LilysDad ONLINE  

LilysDad

    Cat Lover

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10443
  • 9,647 Thanks
  • 7,677 posts
  • Location: N. Illinois, DeKalb County

Posted May 22, 2016 - 07:12 PM

 They said everything is still here but where :smashing_pc: Problem now is the much needed sun shine is here & I can't sit & play with this thing.

When it opens, at the lower left it says search the web. I type in AOL, which has always been my home page and I'm back in business. The other thing is; I don't like the new browser, so I switched to Firefox.


  • hamman and Sawdust have said thanks

#11 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,296 Thanks
  • 28,626 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted May 22, 2016 - 08:09 PM

I have been running the first program on this list (GWX control panel)
http://ultimateoutsider.com/downloads/

So far, it has kept the crap off my laptop. We will see if the work one survived the weekend.
  • KennyP and Sawdust have said thanks

#12 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,461 Thanks
  • 39,690 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted May 23, 2016 - 06:42 AM

I have been running the first program on this list (GWX control panel)
http://ultimateoutsider.com/downloads/

So far, it has kept the crap off my laptop. We will see if the work one survived the weekend.

I'm using that as well.



#13 Username OFFLINE  

Username

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 2568
  • 2,065 Thanks
  • 1,425 posts
  • Location: Punxsutawney,Pa

Posted May 23, 2016 - 08:17 AM

One of my shop computers turned into Windows 10 overnight.


  • Sawdust said thank you

#14 HDWildBill ONLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,709 Thanks
  • 8,563 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted May 24, 2016 - 05:04 PM

You windows users enjoy, M$ is going to get you one way or another.  http://www.bbc.com/n...nology-36367221



#15 hamman ONLINE  

hamman

    Homelite Owner Extraordinaire

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1733
  • 5,629 Thanks
  • 2,583 posts
  • Location: Michigan

Posted June 02, 2016 - 06:29 PM

Woke up yesterday to find it on my computer!  Was trying to set up skype so we could talk to our grand daughter and ad to wait a few hours until I figured 10 out. tll don't have it figured out but can navigate it so I can use it.  Got to skype with hter and the daughter and son inlaw, great to do that. We were the first grandparents to see her walk all by herself!!!! So excited.Enought of that, now on to learning this 10 thing better.                                                                                                                                             Roger






Top