Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Question regarding operation of safety switches?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 1FAST0246 OFFLINE  

1FAST0246
  • Member
  • Member No: 83070
  • 2 Thanks
  • 8 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted May 21, 2016 - 11:17 PM

Craftsman model# 917271830
No spark unless disconnect magneto wire. Im having trouble ruling out clutch switch or blade engagement switch. I believe it may be both now. What is the order of operation (electrically) for these switches and no or nc or both? I eventually got it to fire with magneto wire connected by jumping both white wires together on both switches. Had to do both switches or wouldn't fire. Thanks in advance!

#2 John Arsenault OFFLINE  

John Arsenault
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 76279
  • 770 Thanks
  • 510 posts
  • Location: Maine

Posted May 22, 2016 - 07:39 AM

I would need a wiring diagram to help you out any. I had issues like this on my long lost and forgotten JD. It seemed there was a safety switch for everything.  One so you can't get out of the seat, one so you can't back up while the pto is engaged, one for low oil level. and it all ties into the ignition. 

 

A bit of advice before you start touching wires together , get a diagram ...one wrong touch and It can cost ya. 



#3 1FAST0246 OFFLINE  

1FAST0246
  • Member
  • Member No: 83070
  • 2 Thanks
  • 8 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted May 22, 2016 - 09:28 AM

Only 3 safety switches. Seat, clutch, blade engagement. I already figured out that its tied to both switches stated. I've tested with meter. I cant find schematics to find out if they are NC/NO, NO/NO,etc.

#4 glgrumpy ONLINE  

glgrumpy

    Getting Out!

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8360
  • 6,661 Thanks
  • 6,475 posts
  • Location: Huntington, IN 46750 North East in State

Posted May 22, 2016 - 09:31 AM

My late Power Kings and maybe others have a control box that gets info from all the switches. Can't bypass, needs correct info from all the boxes to make sure it is ready to start. Have had burn up. About $85 for that.  Think have seen similar on other brands. They are trying to keep us from bypassing them.  This is a late 90's model, so probly all new ones have similar, don't know. 



#5 toppop52 OFFLINE  

toppop52
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 54420
  • 3,493 Thanks
  • 3,380 posts
  • Location: Lower Eastern Shore of Maryland

Posted May 22, 2016 - 09:48 AM

Most Craftsman The seat switch is normally open, you close the circuit sitting on it. Try unplugging it and run a jumper into the plug and see what happens. Set your tester to ohms and contact the switch terminals, either listen for the tone or watch for the resistance to go way up, that will tell when it's closed.



#6 1FAST0246 OFFLINE  

1FAST0246
  • Member
  • Member No: 83070
  • 2 Thanks
  • 8 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted May 22, 2016 - 10:37 AM

The seat switch is working as it should. I guess ill just replace the clutch and blade engagement switch since they work when jumped.

#7 1FAST0246 OFFLINE  

1FAST0246
  • Member
  • Member No: 83070
  • 2 Thanks
  • 8 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted May 22, 2016 - 01:50 PM

Thought I had it figured out then sit on seat it kills power. I have a parts mower same mower just had bigger engine. Switches are different. This things killing me.

#8 1FAST0246 OFFLINE  

1FAST0246
  • Member
  • Member No: 83070
  • 2 Thanks
  • 8 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted May 22, 2016 - 08:09 PM

Anyone know the specifics of switches, NC,NO, etc? Cant find online. Thx.
  • toppop52 said thank you

#9 toppop52 OFFLINE  

toppop52
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 54420
  • 3,493 Thanks
  • 3,380 posts
  • Location: Lower Eastern Shore of Maryland

Posted May 22, 2016 - 08:30 PM

I told you how to find out with your tester.

#10 1FAST0246 OFFLINE  

1FAST0246
  • Member
  • Member No: 83070
  • 2 Thanks
  • 8 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted May 22, 2016 - 09:37 PM

I know how to test them. I need to know what the switches are supposed to be from factory. Its not a new mower therefore has been messed with before myself. I also have other switches out if a parts mower and they are not the same operation as ones on mower. Does me no good to test if its not the switch that's supposed to operate for the mower. NC,NC OR NC,NO, or NO,NO. Thx anyways.

#11 MH81 OFFLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,289 Thanks
  • 28,622 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted May 22, 2016 - 10:09 PM

Looked at the schematic on searspartsdirect.com
Then took the number for the interlock switches
It appears that it is a four pin switch with one side being normally open and the other side being normally closed

The seat switch appears to be normally closed, but I'm not sure on that one... Just going by what a couple sellers said on Amazon.

#12 1FAST0246 OFFLINE  

1FAST0246
  • Member
  • Member No: 83070
  • 2 Thanks
  • 8 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted May 22, 2016 - 10:16 PM

O.K. Thanks alot. See I switched seat switches and had all switches connected and magneto wire connected. It fired so I thought I was good.....i sat down and it killed mower lol I appreciate the time finding info. I'll have to check that against my switches because it seems like one I had was NO,NO. Hard to tell what others have done. Thx. again!
  • MH81 said thank you

#13 WNYTractorTinkerer OFFLINE  

WNYTractorTinkerer

    Tinker Master

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10789
  • 8,311 Thanks
  • 4,661 posts
  • Location: Avon, NY

Posted May 22, 2016 - 10:41 PM

Unplug the seat switch and it should work.. It's a NC per the wiring diagram.  When you sit on the seat it opens the circuit.  Go to this SITE  and D/L the Users manual.  Page 33 is the Wiring diagram and it shows the circuits on the lower left..  The conditions for start & run are the ones you are looking for.  The way to test it is to chase the Kill wire you unplug back to wherever it is grounding out.  Chase it through the Safeties to the Ignition switch.  (you didn't replace the sw did you?  Could be the wrong one)   Study it and fire back with questions..  


Edited by WNYTractorTinkerer, May 22, 2016 - 10:43 PM.


#14 1FAST0246 OFFLINE  

1FAST0246
  • Member
  • Member No: 83070
  • 2 Thanks
  • 8 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted May 22, 2016 - 10:57 PM

Ill definitely check the site out, thx. I could rig it to work but I don't like things getting best of me. I'll do some mire work tomorrow with diagram. Thx.

#15 toppop52 OFFLINE  

toppop52
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 54420
  • 3,493 Thanks
  • 3,380 posts
  • Location: Lower Eastern Shore of Maryland

Posted May 23, 2016 - 09:42 AM

I had 2 AYP built garden tractors, one Craftsman GT5000 and one Wizard, the Craftsman was normally open, closed when you sat on the seat, ran with a jumper wire, the brake was the opposite. The Wizard had a normally closed seat switch. No idea why there isn't an industry standard for this stuff.


  • MH81 said thank you




Top