Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

LT1642 won't stay running


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 STEELRAIN13F OFFLINE  

STEELRAIN13F
  • Member
  • Member No: 82927
  • 33 Thanks
  • 56 posts
  • Location: Black River Falls, Wi

Posted May 17, 2016 - 08:26 PM

It is model 135G660G118. 11HP BS 6sp. New fuel filter. Checked lines decent battery plug has spark. I can't figure it out.

#2 Auburn David OFFLINE  

Auburn David
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 61865
  • 2,754 Thanks
  • 1,962 posts
  • Location: Alabama

Posted May 17, 2016 - 08:59 PM

Little more info would be great..how long will it run to start with?



#3 Auburn David OFFLINE  

Auburn David
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 61865
  • 2,754 Thanks
  • 1,962 posts
  • Location: Alabama

Posted May 17, 2016 - 09:01 PM

Dirty tank can cause one not to run long(will start after it sets for some time..but die after fuel in bowl is gone)


  • boyscout862 said thank you

#4 STEELRAIN13F OFFLINE  

STEELRAIN13F
  • Member
  • Member No: 82927
  • 33 Thanks
  • 56 posts
  • Location: Black River Falls, Wi

Posted May 17, 2016 - 09:08 PM

If I fiddle with it I can get it to run for about 10-15mins. The trick is to get it to run. I have to choke by hand since the cable is missing.

#5 Auburn David OFFLINE  

Auburn David
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 61865
  • 2,754 Thanks
  • 1,962 posts
  • Location: Alabama

Posted May 17, 2016 - 09:11 PM

You have trash in the carb..you need to clean it out..put a kit in it ..and check that no trash is in the tank.


  • STEELRAIN13F said thank you

#6 STEELRAIN13F OFFLINE  

STEELRAIN13F
  • Member
  • Member No: 82927
  • 33 Thanks
  • 56 posts
  • Location: Black River Falls, Wi

Posted May 17, 2016 - 09:13 PM

I will look that info up tonight and dig into it tomorrow. Thank you for the help.
  • Auburn David said thank you

#7 Auburn David OFFLINE  

Auburn David
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 61865
  • 2,754 Thanks
  • 1,962 posts
  • Location: Alabama

Posted May 17, 2016 - 09:15 PM

Might not need a kit if you can save the gaskets..does it have a shut down solenoid?



#8 Auburn David OFFLINE  

Auburn David
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 61865
  • 2,754 Thanks
  • 1,962 posts
  • Location: Alabama

Posted May 17, 2016 - 09:17 PM

Should be a cheap fix..just a little time.



#9 STEELRAIN13F OFFLINE  

STEELRAIN13F
  • Member
  • Member No: 82927
  • 33 Thanks
  • 56 posts
  • Location: Black River Falls, Wi

Posted May 17, 2016 - 09:26 PM

Are you referring to the dead man set switch? If so yes. I don't know much about it yet just picked it for $60 today. It's in good shape just running rough.. I now have the tractor bug. Bought 4 in 3 days...

Edited by STEELRAIN13F, May 17, 2016 - 09:30 PM.

  • boyscout862 and Auburn David have said thanks

#10 boyscout862 OFFLINE  

boyscout862
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 8923
  • 9,807 Thanks
  • 7,547 posts
  • Location: N.E. Connecticut

Posted May 17, 2016 - 11:18 PM

Download the newer B&S Repairmans Manual and follow the trouble shooting guide. Good Luck, Rick
  • STEELRAIN13F said thank you

#11 crittersf1 OFFLINE  

crittersf1

    GT Lunatic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 26142
  • 4,169 Thanks
  • 5,761 posts
  • Location: Newport, N.C.

Posted May 18, 2016 - 07:58 AM

:camera: :camera: :camera:



#12 grattone ONLINE  

grattone
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 66237
  • 222 Thanks
  • 168 posts
  • Location: Stanleytown, Va.

Posted May 18, 2016 - 08:27 AM

What IF you took the fuel line lose at the carburetor and ran the fuel into a clean container until the tank emptied ( then you would rule out the tank, fuel line and filter)? Then have it ready to remove the carburetor if need.

Just a thought ! 

Gratton


  • Auburn David and STEELRAIN13F have said thanks

#13 STEELRAIN13F OFFLINE  

STEELRAIN13F
  • Member
  • Member No: 82927
  • 33 Thanks
  • 56 posts
  • Location: Black River Falls, Wi

Posted June 28, 2016 - 06:40 PM

Ok, it's been a while. I've got it running, but it will only run with the throttle set on high. If I move it it chokes out and dies. Any thoughts?




Top