• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 bubster OFFLINE  

bubster
  • Member No: 82936
  • 0 Thanks
  • 3 posts

Posted May 15, 2016 - 10:19 AM

Hello all, I have an old Craftsman 2 lawn tractor, 14 hp. I believe it is from 1984, anyhow, I really like the old thing and use it a lot. I would like to add a kill/panic or emergency stop switch since it has none. Maintenance guys at the shop suggested it, so I bought one of the push button with the red "mushroom" top that you push in for an emergency and turn it to reset it kind, one side has normally closed contacts and the other is normally open. I know absolutely nothing about wiring this in but would like to try to. If some kind soul could help me out to get this wired in correctly, I would greatly appreciate it, but please keep in mind I am not very experienced at this type of thing but want to learn. I did download the manual for this tractor and the model number is 917.255813 if this helps....Thank you.

#2 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts

Posted May 15, 2016 - 11:37 AM

Welcome to GTtalk. One of the Craftsmen guys will be along shortly to help you out.
  • boyscout862 and bubster have said thanks

#3 boyscout862 OFFLINE  

boyscout862
  • Member No: 8923
  • 9,807 Thanks
  • 7,547 posts

Posted May 15, 2016 - 12:35 PM

Welcome to GTT. You should be able to install the switch on the dash. Wire it as normally open with one leg to the ground and the other to the magneto. That way, when you push the button, it grounds the magneto. That is what the key normally does too. Just besure that it is a magneto ignition. Download the big engine manual from our Manuals Section. It will explain alot.