Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

tecumseh hh120 coil gap


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 collinmf12 OFFLINE  

collinmf12
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10011
  • 114 Thanks
  • 197 posts
  • Location: Schaefferstown , PA

Posted April 21, 2016 - 12:46 PM

Hey everyone Im replacing my coil on my 1975 mf12. It has a tecumseh hh120 with ssi. Didnt know if you guys know the gap between the the little nub on the flywheel and the coil. Because it currently doesnt have spark and i think its because i dont have the gap right.  

                  Thanks,

                        Collin



#2 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,632 Thanks
  • 3,870 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted April 21, 2016 - 01:14 PM

.010 is the Mag air gap
  • collinmf12 said thank you

#3 collinmf12 OFFLINE  

collinmf12
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10011
  • 114 Thanks
  • 197 posts
  • Location: Schaefferstown , PA

Posted April 21, 2016 - 02:26 PM

.010 is the Mag air gap

thank you!



#4 Tecumseh power OFFLINE  

Tecumseh power

    Jack of all trades, master of none.

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 77571
  • 943 Thanks
  • 768 posts
  • Location: Vintondale pa

Posted April 21, 2016 - 03:16 PM

If you still don't have spark after that check the lead wire that goes from the stator that plugs into the side of the solid state they always break inside the jacket.

Edited by Tecumseh power, April 21, 2016 - 03:17 PM.

  • limebuzz, Alc and collinmf12 have said thanks

#5 collinmf12 OFFLINE  

collinmf12
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10011
  • 114 Thanks
  • 197 posts
  • Location: Schaefferstown , PA

Posted April 21, 2016 - 03:53 PM

If you still don't have spark after that check the lead wire that goes from the stator that plugs into the side of the solid state they always break inside the jacket.

yeah i just checked i stil dont have spark and from the looks of it that lead wire isnt broke



#6 HowardsMF155 OFFLINE  

HowardsMF155

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 4243
  • 2,699 Thanks
  • 2,916 posts
  • Location: Central NC

Posted April 21, 2016 - 05:45 PM

I suggest you also check the height of the two trigger studs.  Not sure I remember correctly, but one is at 3/16 and the other is 1/4.  I think the 1/4 is the more "retarded" one for starting, then the 3/16 one will start to trigger once the flywheel start spinning fast.  I had a  Tec with very high exhaust temps and low power output because those depths had been changed.

 

Found the thread I worked out of with the suggestions and my findings:

http://gardentractor...ne-lacks-power/


Edited by HowardsMF155, April 21, 2016 - 05:55 PM.

  • ducky, limebuzz, collinmf12 and 1 other said thanks

#7 collinmf12 OFFLINE  

collinmf12
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10011
  • 114 Thanks
  • 197 posts
  • Location: Schaefferstown , PA

Posted April 21, 2016 - 08:28 PM

I suggest you also check the height of the two trigger studs.  Not sure I remember correctly, but one is at 3/16 and the other is 1/4.  I think the 1/4 is the more "retarded" one for starting, then the 3/16 one will start to trigger once the flywheel start spinning fast.  I had a  Tec with very high exhaust temps and low power output because those depths had been changed.

 

Found the thread I worked out of with the suggestions and my findings:

http://gardentractor...ne-lacks-power/

 

ok thanks



#8 Tecumseh power OFFLINE  

Tecumseh power

    Jack of all trades, master of none.

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 77571
  • 943 Thanks
  • 768 posts
  • Location: Vintondale pa

Posted April 21, 2016 - 10:53 PM

yeah i just checked i stil dont have spark and from the looks of it that lead wire isnt broke

you have to remove the stator to check it good and meter it to see if it is broken in the jacket when you move it around. 140 ohms for a 20 amp stator. 470 ohms for a 10 amp stator
  • collinmf12 said thank you

#9 TAHOE OFFLINE  

TAHOE
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 24522
  • 6,504 Thanks
  • 4,955 posts
  • Location: "Hamiltucky" Ohio

Posted April 22, 2016 - 06:58 AM

Most of the guys have covered it.  The gap before module trigger and the tall stud is .006-.010.

The tall stud is at Top Dead center, it is used for starting. As soon as the RPM's get going ( over 200) it jumps to being triggered off the short stud which is approx. 25* advanced.


  • limebuzz, collinmf12 and Tecumseh power have said thanks




Top