• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts

Posted April 19, 2016 - 05:30 AM

I have a KT17 in a 317 that has been running with a weak fuel pump. This spring it wouldn't start and I am not getting fuel to the carb. What are the options for replacing/rebuilding the pump. I've seen electric pumps used, and even vacuum conversions done. The replacement plastic pumps are still pretty expensive. Are rebuild kits still out there?

#2 Jazz OFFLINE  

Jazz
  • Member No: 62028
  • 1,438 Thanks
  • 949 posts

Posted April 19, 2016 - 05:46 AM

I use one of these pumps on my SS16. Facet has quite a variety of pumps. Never a issue with this pump. I used it on a V6  for a while.  I have no experience with the lower buck pumps I see on ebay for $10 or $15....yet

http://www.ebay.com/...OSw9N1VsOUj

• JDBrian said thank you

#3 CRFarnsworth OFFLINE  

CRFarnsworth

• Contributor
  • Member No: 6275
  • 3,642 Thanks
  • 1,734 posts

Posted April 19, 2016 - 06:27 AM

I bought an electric pump from NAPA,  Put it on an M18.

I have been happy so far.  Rick

• JDBrian said thank you

#4 MiCarl ONLINE  

MiCarl
  • Member No: 75926
  • 838 Thanks
  • 480 posts

Posted April 19, 2016 - 06:32 AM

I put an electric pump (similar to the one Jazz posted) on my Craftsman lawn tractor (Kohler Magnum 18HP).  Seems to work fine except a bit prone to flooding if the key spends any time in the on position without starting the tractor.

I suspect I have a float that isn't closing and it wasn't noticeable with the mechanical pump.

• JDBrian and CRFarnsworth have said thanks

#5 glgrumpy OFFLINE  

glgrumpy

Getting Out!

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8360
  • 6,659 Thanks
  • 6,470 posts

Posted April 19, 2016 - 07:45 AM