• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 boyscout862 ONLINE  

boyscout862
  • Member No: 8923
  • 9,750 Thanks
  • 7,522 posts

Posted April 17, 2016 - 02:10 PM

I've been toying with practicing Archery in my backyard. I haven't shot since Boyscout Camp. I picked up a nice bow with some arrows but no string. Yesterday, on an impulse, I bought 4 dozen, new in the box, fiberglas arrows at the tractor swap meet(everything shows up there). My son thinks that they are too short at 33". What length should I be using? I have been looking for my box of spare strings(they were on clearance for $1 each so I bought an assortment years ago when my son was shooting with scouts). Thanks, Rick 

• hamman and Bolens800uk have said thanks

#2 petrj6 ONLINE  

petrj6
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 53717
  • 3,806 Thanks
  • 2,219 posts

Posted April 17, 2016 - 02:56 PM

I am not a pro by any means but I think your draw length sets what your arrow length should be, if it is a compound bow then the draw length will be pre set in it and should match your own.

Pete

• hamman and boyscout862 have said thanks

#3 JD DANNELS OFFLINE  

JD DANNELS

Tractorholic

• Member No: 2011
  • 3,786 Thanks
  • 3,907 posts

Posted April 17, 2016 - 04:16 PM

You can determine your draw length roughly by placing the nock on your chest and extending your arms and place your fingertips together.  When shooting a recurve bow my draw length is 26 inches while anchoring at the corner of my mouth.

I am 5 ft 8 inches and around 150 lbs.

The arrow spine(flexibility) is determined by the draw weight of the bow.

There are archery sites that will explain all this better and have charts to guide you on draw length, arrow spine,string length, etc.

Edited by JD DANNELS, April 17, 2016 - 04:23 PM.

• hamman and boyscout862 have said thanks

#4 toomanytoys84 ONLINE  

toomanytoys84

Aaron

• Member No: 45129
  • 8,230 Thanks
  • 5,071 posts

Posted April 17, 2016 - 05:58 PM