Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

HH120 Charging question


  • Please log in to reply
43 replies to this topic

#1 KIRO-1 OFFLINE  

KIRO-1

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 2451
  • 40 Thanks
  • 300 posts
  • Location: Swanzey,NH

Posted May 04, 2011 - 04:04 PM

Does anyone know at what RPM the alternator starts to re-charge the battery? I bought a new Interstate battery last Saturday with 625 CCA and she needed to be charged this afternoon. There wasn't enough juice in her to turn the engine over fast enough to start. Been playing with the MF12 a bit but not running it for any length of time and not running her at very high RPM. So I'm wondering if it's not re-charging because of that or if I have a magneto problem. :anyone:

#2 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,252 Thanks
  • 28,602 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted May 04, 2011 - 05:45 PM

Ryan's 10 wasn't charging either. Took the cover off the regulator (after pulling a battery cable) and burnished the contacts... Started charging right away. May be a simple fix. Hope so.

#3 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted May 04, 2011 - 07:18 PM

Hey Ross.
Have you downloaded the Tecumseh service manual?
It walks you through the tests to determine what might be wrong.
  • KIRO-1 said thank you

#4 KIRO-1 OFFLINE  

KIRO-1

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 2451
  • 40 Thanks
  • 300 posts
  • Location: Swanzey,NH

Posted May 04, 2011 - 09:11 PM

Sometimes I can be a little slow on the up take. One of our girls (Newfs) went into labor, She's not contracting well so the wife just left with her for the vet's. Emergency C-Section. Cha-Ching. Coulda bought a couple more tractors for what this is gonna cost me!! (LOL) I will down load the manual tomorrow. Thanks again

Ross

#5 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted May 04, 2011 - 09:33 PM

Sometimes I can be a little slow on the up take. One of our girls (Newfs) went into labor, She's not contracting well so the wife just left with her for the vet's. Emergency C-Section. Cha-Ching. Coulda bought a couple more tractors for what this is gonna cost me!! (LOL) I will down load the manual tomorrow. Thanks again

Ross


Yeah, I hear ya about that Cha-ching. Hope the newf does well.
I think I mentioned to ya in a pm, that my eldest daughter is in vet college.
With my wifes dog habit, and my tractor habit, I think I might be alright.
I'll pay my daughter tractors to fix the dogs. What can she say?

#6 KIRO-1 OFFLINE  

KIRO-1

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 2451
  • 40 Thanks
  • 300 posts
  • Location: Swanzey,NH

Posted May 04, 2011 - 09:35 PM

Just don't part with the MF7. That one is soooo sweet!

#7 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted May 04, 2011 - 09:54 PM

Just don't part with the MF7. That one is soooo sweet!



LOL
I love my girl, but that one she'll have to wait for.

#8 middleageddeere OFFLINE  

middleageddeere

    Tacos!

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 2033
  • 243 Thanks
  • 1,082 posts
  • Location: MI

Posted May 06, 2011 - 06:19 AM

Does anyone know at what RPM the alternator starts to re-charge the battery? :


I might be wrong but even at idle speed it should be charging.
  • KIRO-1 said thank you

#9 KIRO-1 OFFLINE  

KIRO-1

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 2451
  • 40 Thanks
  • 300 posts
  • Location: Swanzey,NH

Posted May 06, 2011 - 07:14 AM

The manual doesn't say. However, it does call for all charging tests to be done at engine speeds of 2500 rpm and higher. My Harley doesn't charge until above 2500 rpm which is why I was asking.

#10 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted May 06, 2011 - 11:07 AM

Does the tractor have an ammeter? That should show you if it is charging or not. Sometimes it is a bad connection at the regulater module or a bad ground connection at the engine or the regulator chassis. Sometimes the regulators are faulty. Get the Tecumseh manual as noted above and you should be able to determine the problem.

#11 DH1 OFFLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,585 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted May 06, 2011 - 05:12 PM

An easy way to tell is use a digital volt meter,
Start the tractor run at idle, take a reading
Rev up to full speed 3600 or so and take another reading.
if the voltage rises it's charging.
  • middleageddeere said thank you

#12 KIRO-1 OFFLINE  

KIRO-1

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 2451
  • 40 Thanks
  • 300 posts
  • Location: Swanzey,NH

Posted May 06, 2011 - 07:18 PM

I have a digital meter. Where should I take the reading?

#13 DH1 OFFLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,585 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted May 06, 2011 - 07:19 PM

I have a digital meter. Where should I take the reading?


Right across the battery terminals.
  • KIRO-1 said thank you

#14 KIRO-1 OFFLINE  

KIRO-1

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 2451
  • 40 Thanks
  • 300 posts
  • Location: Swanzey,NH

Posted May 06, 2011 - 07:26 PM

DUHH Me!!!:bigrofl:

#15 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted May 07, 2011 - 05:47 AM

Does an MF12 have an ammeter? I assumed it did because my 74 MF8 has one. My regulator was not working when I got the tractor.




Top