Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Hydrostatic Fluid Temperature?


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#16 Paulgo OFFLINE  

Paulgo
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 68759
  • 594 Thanks
  • 393 posts
  • Location: Sault Ste Marie, MI

Posted March 29, 2016 - 09:19 PM

Strap on sensor would be easier I figure. May not give exact fluid temperature, but would let you know if it's heating up. That would also keep the wire more to the top so it won't get tangled up in any thing.

Noel

That's what I want, a sensor that straps onto the suction line between gearbox/reservoir and charge pump. Could wrap a little foam around it. Have looked, but no luck so far. All I am finding are normal probes meant for immersion in the oil. Might be able to make one of those work...


  • propane1 said thank you

#17 propane1 ONLINE  

propane1
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 54307
  • 6,107 Thanks
  • 3,199 posts
  • Location: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Posted March 30, 2016 - 04:32 AM

Use one of those, slide it into a piece of copper tubing, then strap the copper to where you want, silicone the ends of copper, then put the foam over it.

Noel
  • Paulgo said thank you

#18 John Arsenault OFFLINE  

John Arsenault
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 76279
  • 770 Thanks
  • 510 posts
  • Location: Maine

Posted March 30, 2016 - 07:44 AM

Can you use the hydro ports?


  • Paulgo said thank you

#19 Paulgo OFFLINE  

Paulgo
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 68759
  • 594 Thanks
  • 393 posts
  • Location: Sault Ste Marie, MI

Posted March 30, 2016 - 07:54 AM

Can you use the hydro ports?

I don't see how?



#20 olds45512 OFFLINE  

olds45512
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 77943
  • 609 Thanks
  • 349 posts
  • Location: Indiana PA

Posted March 30, 2016 - 11:26 AM

Can you use the hydro ports?

the sensor would have to be installed in a reservoir, I don't think it would handle the psi of being in the port.
  • Paulgo said thank you

#21 warrior120 OFFLINE  

warrior120
  • Member
  • Member No: 77709
  • 56 Thanks
  • 74 posts

Posted March 30, 2016 - 07:25 PM

the only negative i see to that idea is that it would put the wire and the sending unit down low where it could get damaged.

You could build a housing around the port and sending wire




Top