Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Hydrostatic Fluid Temperature?


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Paulgo OFFLINE  

Paulgo
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 68759
  • 594 Thanks
  • 393 posts
  • Location: Sault Ste Marie, MI

Posted March 29, 2016 - 01:37 PM

I want to monitor the hydraulic fluid temperature in my 40 year old GT's. Have seen refrigeration setups where a probe clamped onto a pipe and then was connected to a meter. There should be something similar that I can use to watch the temp of the fluid in the suction tube between the reservoir and charge pump. Anybody done something along these lines?  Paul



#2 larrybl OFFLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,943 Thanks
  • 3,322 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted March 29, 2016 - 01:49 PM

Many Digital multimeters have a tempature probe just for this. Mine has a 6' lead, This could be taped to the line you want to measure.


  • Paulgo said thank you

#3 Paulgo OFFLINE  

Paulgo
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 68759
  • 594 Thanks
  • 393 posts
  • Location: Sault Ste Marie, MI

Posted March 29, 2016 - 02:00 PM

That could work for random checks. Hoping to add a permanently mounted gauge to each of my GT's.



#4 olds45512 OFFLINE  

olds45512
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 77943
  • 609 Thanks
  • 349 posts
  • Location: Indiana PA

Posted March 29, 2016 - 02:38 PM

You could buy an oil temperature gauge and drill a hole and thread it for the sensor, then you just need to figure out where you want to mount the quage.
  • TomLGT195, Bill 76 and Paulgo have said thanks

#5 James Bosma OFFLINE  

James Bosma
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 76126
  • 451 Thanks
  • 221 posts
  • Location: Belleville Ontario Canada

Posted March 29, 2016 - 04:21 PM

Would a water temp gauge work, The ones with the probe on the end, Could tape probe tight to pipe to read temp of the pipe, or a T fitting could be installed on tube and probe mounted it the T right in the oil.

 

A gauge like this ABC239.jpg


  • Alc and Paulgo have said thanks

#6 olds45512 OFFLINE  

olds45512
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 77943
  • 609 Thanks
  • 349 posts
  • Location: Indiana PA

Posted March 29, 2016 - 04:33 PM

I'd use something like this.
http://www.amazon.co...f_rd_i=15735921
  • Paulgo said thank you

#7 BigFlash OFFLINE  

BigFlash

    New Member

  • Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 7324
  • 150 Thanks
  • 88 posts
  • Location: Lancaster PA

Posted March 29, 2016 - 05:00 PM

I wouldn't mind doing that to my 140, ideally I would drill in tap a whole in the rear axle/reservoir. But i don't think i could ever bring myself to do it.


  • Paulgo said thank you

#8 propane1 ONLINE  

propane1
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 54307
  • 6,107 Thanks
  • 3,199 posts
  • Location: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Posted March 29, 2016 - 06:10 PM

What should the temperature be for fluid. Normal and to hot ?

Noel

#9 Paulgo OFFLINE  

Paulgo
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 68759
  • 594 Thanks
  • 393 posts
  • Location: Sault Ste Marie, MI

Posted March 29, 2016 - 06:22 PM

What should the temperature be for fluid. Normal and to hot ?

Noel

Normal is 140-180°F. Max recommended operating temperature for most hydros is 190-195°F.


  • propane1 said thank you

#10 Cvans ONLINE  

Cvans

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5412
  • 4,480 Thanks
  • 5,013 posts
  • Location: Eastern SD.

Posted March 29, 2016 - 06:48 PM

220 degs most non-synthetic oils start to break down or form carbon if I remember correctly. 


  • Paulgo said thank you

#11 James Bosma OFFLINE  

James Bosma
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 76126
  • 451 Thanks
  • 221 posts
  • Location: Belleville Ontario Canada

Posted March 29, 2016 - 07:02 PM

What if you replaced the drain plug with the temp sender, when doing oil change you can inspect the sending unit  and no damage done to the housing


  • limebuzz, propane1 and Paulgo have said thanks

#12 Paulgo OFFLINE  

Paulgo
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 68759
  • 594 Thanks
  • 393 posts
  • Location: Sault Ste Marie, MI

Posted March 29, 2016 - 07:14 PM

What if you replaced the drain plug with the temp sender, when doing oil change you can inspect the sending unit  and no damage done to the housing

That would definitely be the quickest and easiest approach. :thumbs:


  • propane1 said thank you

#13 warrior120 OFFLINE  

warrior120
  • Member
  • Member No: 77709
  • 56 Thanks
  • 74 posts

Posted March 29, 2016 - 07:39 PM

Interesting idea I think it would be something to look into
  • propane1 and Paulgo have said thanks

#14 olds45512 OFFLINE  

olds45512
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 77943
  • 609 Thanks
  • 349 posts
  • Location: Indiana PA

Posted March 29, 2016 - 08:02 PM

What if you replaced the drain plug with the temp sender, when doing oil change you can inspect the sending unit  and no damage done to the housing

the only negative i see to that idea is that it would put the wire and the sending unit down low where it could get damaged.


Edited by olds45512, March 29, 2016 - 08:02 PM.

  • propane1, Paulgo, James Bosma and 1 other said thanks

#15 propane1 ONLINE  

propane1
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 54307
  • 6,107 Thanks
  • 3,199 posts
  • Location: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Posted March 29, 2016 - 08:42 PM

Strap on sensor would be easier I figure. May not give exact fluid temperature, but would let you know if it's heating up. That would also keep the wire more to the top so it won't get tangled up in any thing.

Noel
  • James Bosma said thank you




Top