Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Advise on replacing motor mounts


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted May 03, 2011 - 09:38 AM

I have a new rear motor mount for the 314. My question is, can I get away with bolting the mount on using 3/16" SS bolts or do I need to get 3/16" steel rivets and a big rivet gun to mount them. The stock ones are rivetted in. I have heard of people bolting them. Ideally, I would like to rivet it in but I would want to clean up any rust on the frame and paint it before rivetting. I really don't want to get into that until I strip the whole thing down, so do you think it's OK to bolt them until I do a major restore?

#2 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,632 Thanks
  • 3,870 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted May 03, 2011 - 09:40 AM

Use some Loctite and you should be OK

#3 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,513 Thanks
  • 39,734 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted May 05, 2011 - 06:12 PM

I used 3/16 allen heads with nylock nuts and lock washers.

#4 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted May 05, 2011 - 06:53 PM

Thanks for the suggestions. I haven't really looked at it closely yet. From the top it looks like it may be a bear to get at. The motor mount bracket is covering one of the rivets. I may have to unbolt the engine and move it a bit to access them. It is probably worse from underneath. I've got the front end apart now to tighten up the steering. The engine work will come next and first will be the mount.

#5 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,513 Thanks
  • 39,734 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted May 05, 2011 - 07:19 PM

I replaced mine while the engine was out. Probably the best way. Haven't been up close and personal with any JD's.

#6 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted May 07, 2011 - 07:06 PM

I don't really want to get into a big refit right now. I bought this tractor so it could be used by my wife this summer. I have a JD2320, a CUT with a loader and it is too big for her to handle around the yard. Hopefully I can get the mount changed without removing the engine- but if I have to it shouldn't take too long




Top