Jump to content

Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Panzer T70 Resto-Mod


  • Please log in to reply
340 replies to this topic

#91 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 52637 Thanks
  • 53133 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 03, 2016 - 07:47 AM

Looking real good! Is that a Kohler Magnum engine?



#92 BowDown OFFLINE  

BowDown
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10128
  • 623 Thanks
  • 613 posts
  • Location: Central, NY

Posted December 03, 2016 - 09:17 AM

Looking real good! Is that a Kohler Magnum engine?


Yes sir. Magnum 20. Love the extra 2hp but wish I had the 18 with the 1-1/8" output shaft. This one has a 1-7/16 shaft. Can't find an electric pto clutch.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  • KennyP said thank you

#93 dropped82 OFFLINE  

dropped82

    Nut Case

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 9923
  • 2823 Thanks
  • 1940 posts
  • Location: Indiana

Posted December 03, 2016 - 09:30 AM

John deere used that shaft size. Although I don't know what Deere used a Magnum 20.

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk

#94 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 52637 Thanks
  • 53133 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 04, 2016 - 07:04 AM

Onan's used that size crank. I have an FF with the B48 that could use a PTO clutch.


  • BowDown said thank you

#95 BowDown OFFLINE  

BowDown
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10128
  • 623 Thanks
  • 613 posts
  • Location: Central, NY

Posted December 05, 2016 - 05:25 PM

Bit of progress today. Bench was tied up so the hood is on hold for a bit. Got the pulleys mounted onto the pto shafts. Also installed the studs for the new exhaust manifolds. Looks like I will have some room to shift the tranny forward without modifying the output shaft. Still plan to trim it a bit.

d27988456e658fbcf6574bad4c6189cd.jpg891b39ec449cfb91346b553da3d026c0.jpg4e753e53f538c42b2efc46b65ed7e498.jpg


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  • KennyP, tiretrx and Mark 149 J. have said thanks

#96 BowDown OFFLINE  

BowDown
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10128
  • 623 Thanks
  • 613 posts
  • Location: Central, NY

Posted December 05, 2016 - 05:26 PM

46bed9ec6be0c723404252e1bf31bc0c.jpg


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  • KennyP, tiretrx and Mark 149 J. have said thanks

#97 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 52637 Thanks
  • 53133 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 06, 2016 - 06:44 AM

I borrowed a pic to show you something. Circled in red is the plug you remove to hook in an oil pressure gauge. My M18 holds about 50+ PSI at wide open throttle.

d27988456e658fbcf6574bad4c6189cd.jpg


  • tiretrx, BowDown and Mark 149 J. have said thanks

#98 BowDown OFFLINE  

BowDown
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10128
  • 623 Thanks
  • 613 posts
  • Location: Central, NY

Posted December 06, 2016 - 07:18 AM

I borrowed a pic to show you something. Circled in red is the plug you remove to hook in an oil pressure gauge. My M18 holds about 50+ PSI at wide open throttle.

attachicon.gifd27988456e658fbcf6574bad4c6189cd.jpg

I had thought about swapping that out for a real gauge. Otherwise I was going to wire it to an idiot light... Not too fond of it running direct to the coil pack kill wire.


  • KennyP said thank you

#99 tiretrx OFFLINE  

tiretrx

    Village Idiot

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 8012
  • 2308 Thanks
  • 1238 posts
  • Location: East End of Long Island

Posted December 06, 2016 - 08:58 AM

I borrowed a pic to show you something. Circled in red is the plug you remove to hook in an oil pressure gauge. My M18 holds about 50+ PSI at wide open throttle.

attachicon.gifd27988456e658fbcf6574bad4c6189cd.jpg

 

I have an M18 on my Custom also. As Kenny shows, it's an easy setup with what's already there. I fabbed up a gauge cluster mount. Obviously, no need to get fancy, but I definitely like having the gauge instead of a light. Just a little more re-assuring.

 

Following every day...............looking great!

 

IMG_20150224_171615_zpscfu2pz7e.jpg


Edited by tiretrx, December 06, 2016 - 08:58 AM.

  • KennyP, ericjr16 and Mark 149 J. have said thanks

#100 BowDown OFFLINE  

BowDown
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10128
  • 623 Thanks
  • 613 posts
  • Location: Central, NY

Posted December 06, 2016 - 09:05 AM

I have an M18 on my Custom also. As Kenny shows, it's an easy setup with what's already there. I fabbed up a gauge cluster mount. Obviously, no need to get fancy, but I definitely like having the gauge instead of a light. Just a little more re-assuring.

Following every day...............looking great!

IMG_20150224_171615_zpscfu2pz7e.jpg


Very cool. You had to replace the sender unit with the one that came with the gauge right? I was looking at gauges on eBay and there seems to be quite a few. Holding back on going with a digital gauge but man the multi function aspect is nice.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  • KennyP and tiretrx have said thanks

#101 tiretrx OFFLINE  

tiretrx

    Village Idiot

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 8012
  • 2308 Thanks
  • 1238 posts
  • Location: East End of Long Island

Posted December 06, 2016 - 10:37 AM

Very cool. You had to replace the sender unit with the one that came with the gauge right?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

 

Thanks, and yes, just a simple plug n play.



#102 BowDown OFFLINE  

BowDown
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10128
  • 623 Thanks
  • 613 posts
  • Location: Central, NY

Posted December 06, 2016 - 11:33 AM

Wonder what would be involved in getting a tachometer to work with the magnum twin? The coil pack doesn't have any kind of tach output... 



#103 tiretrx OFFLINE  

tiretrx

    Village Idiot

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 8012
  • 2308 Thanks
  • 1238 posts
  • Location: East End of Long Island

Posted December 06, 2016 - 12:04 PM

Wonder what would be involved in getting a tachometer to work with the magnum twin? The coil pack doesn't have any kind of tach output... 

 

I'm not saying this as fact, but I think you would need some form of adapter to read both coil signals. Guess you could tap into the negative feeds. Otherwise, you would only get half the proper RPM reading hooked to just one coil. Then hook the adapter to a digital tach?????



#104 BowDown OFFLINE  

BowDown
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10128
  • 623 Thanks
  • 613 posts
  • Location: Central, NY

Posted December 06, 2016 - 12:07 PM

I'm thinking a hall effect switch to a microprocessor, or maybe a reed switch would work to pickup the magnet on the flywheel (similar to the coil pack). Then I can output to the tach unit. I really don't like the universal tach/hour meters I found by searching... I guess more research is needed to determine the input signal the aftermarket tach's are looking for. 


  • tiretrx said thank you

#105 tiretrx OFFLINE  

tiretrx

    Village Idiot

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 8012
  • 2308 Thanks
  • 1238 posts
  • Location: East End of Long Island

Posted December 06, 2016 - 12:18 PM

Ok, some research then. Truth is, I wouldn't mind having one on my rig. Always good to learn, if nothing else :thumbs:






Top