• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 jabelman OFFLINE  

jabelman
  • Member No: 38843
  • 1,472 Thanks
  • 1,134 posts

Posted March 05, 2016 - 11:30 AM

I have always been a huge fan of aviation I have been building all sorts of static models for 25 years now. I came across this article. here a guy built a full replica of a spitfire fighter plane and yes he flies it. amazing build

http://www.ww2aero.c...ideo/#more-2862
  • Bud, KennyP, Cvans and 16 others have said thanks

#2 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

Proud to be Deplorable

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,271 Thanks
  • 28,609 posts

Posted March 05, 2016 - 11:36 AM

Wow, that's impressive.
But as I say when I see things like this,
"Time and Money, Time and Money"
  • KennyP, boyscout862 and propane1 have said thanks

#3 Eric OFFLINE  

Eric
  • Member No: 41778
  • 987 Thanks
  • 669 posts

Posted March 05, 2016 - 12:29 PM

You are so right, lots of money! As an aircraft mechanic I learned that keeping historic airplanes airworthy is a gigantic money pit. Also the resources are very hard to find but not impossible, we once had to locate an entire strut assembly for a B17, ended up finding it in a Navy storage bunker still in our supply system. It had been sitting in its crate since world war 2 undisturbed. Great story thanks for sharing.
  • MH81, HDWildBill and Leonard VanCamp have said thanks

#4 chieffan ONLINE  

chieffan
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62695
  • 6,147 Thanks
  • 4,491 posts

Posted March 05, 2016 - 02:33 PM