5 replies to this topic

#1 EXFFPM OFFLINE  

EXFFPM

• Member No: 3047
  • 0 Thanks
  • 1 posts

Posted May 01, 2011 - 03:04 AM

Greetings!

In urgent need of a "tractor" to mow the lawn of my soon to be new (to me) home, 3/4 acre of lawn, lakefront with mild slope in Western Washington. I am new to this and am desperately seeking a consensus on what to buy. Can't forsee needing any implements save for a trailer and possibly a grass collector. I want a solid, well built "GT/LT?", used or new, shaft drive, iron case & axle, pressure oil and maybe all wheel steer? These are things I have picked up from hours of reading these forums, so bear with me if a machine with all of these things isn't available in one machine. Just looking for a single suggestion for exactly what you would suggest for my application.

Thank you in advance....much appreciated!

#2 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

Accumulator

• Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts

Posted May 01, 2011 - 04:38 AM

EXFFPM,:welcometogttalk:

Glad to have you with us.

Good luck on getting a tractor.
I don't know if you will find an all wheel steer with cast iron trans axle case,as I think most of those are aluminum .

Bolens has some nice tought built older none all wheel steer tractors with shaft drive and case iron case,as does Cub Cadet,Massey Ferguson,Ford/Jacobsen,and many more.

Edited by mjodrey, May 01, 2011 - 05:06 AM.

#3 middleageddeere OFFLINE  

middleageddeere

Tacos!

• Member No: 2033
  • 243 Thanks
  • 1,082 posts

Posted May 01, 2011 - 06:23 AM

My recommendation is stay away from the new ones, I used to have a 2006 John Deere and it was totally inferior to any of my GTs now. The newest of which is about a 1984. Sounds like what might really fit you nicely is a 200 series John Deere, my avatar is a 214. Or a 300 series Wheel Horse. Welcome to GT Talk btw. Nice to have you!
muddy 214-2.jpg

Attached Thumbnails

• wh 310.jpg

#4 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

Super Moderator