Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

MF 10 ignition switch


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 limebuzz OFFLINE  

limebuzz

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 795
  • 863 Thanks
  • 879 posts
  • Location: Bluevale Ontario

Posted February 25, 2016 - 07:54 PM

I was wondering if anyone has had to replace an ignition switch in their 10 before. And if so,where did you source if from? This is the 4 prong switch that is 3 in a triangle shape with a seperate ground wire. Massey dealer wants $78. That's too rich for me. Any help will be appreciated
  • 101 senior said thank you

#2 DH1 OFFLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,587 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted February 25, 2016 - 08:42 PM

I found this > http://www.indakswit...s-stamped-keys/

 

G451 is the only one that has a D terminal.


  • limebuzz said thank you

#3 limebuzz OFFLINE  

limebuzz

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 795
  • 863 Thanks
  • 879 posts
  • Location: Bluevale Ontario

Posted February 25, 2016 - 08:48 PM

Thanks Doug.

#4 limebuzz OFFLINE  

limebuzz

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 795
  • 863 Thanks
  • 879 posts
  • Location: Bluevale Ontario

Posted February 26, 2016 - 12:08 PM

Well, I put the new switch in this morning, and nothing. So I put th old one in and fired right up. So if anyone is looking for a replacement switch, do not buy #7-01850 from Napa. It's a no go. Might just pull the wires out of connector and rearrange them to work. Had it running for over an hour setting the carb. Can get it to stop backfiring but it still hunts bad. An I'm sure it's due for a ring job.
  • DH1 and MFDAC have said thanks

#5 Bolens 1000 ONLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,701 Thanks
  • 17,208 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted February 27, 2016 - 06:12 PM

Alot of the special switches are getting in the $60-$70 range .

Did you get your issues solved or are you still looking for a replacement?


  • limebuzz said thank you

#6 limebuzz OFFLINE  

limebuzz

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 795
  • 863 Thanks
  • 879 posts
  • Location: Bluevale Ontario

Posted February 27, 2016 - 07:34 PM

I think I have one found. If not, do you have a source for these? I can't give you anything but a MF part #. Thanks

#7 Bolens 1000 ONLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,701 Thanks
  • 17,208 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted February 27, 2016 - 07:45 PM

Whats the MF part number worth a shot



#8 limebuzz OFFLINE  

limebuzz

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 795
  • 863 Thanks
  • 879 posts
  • Location: Bluevale Ontario

Posted February 27, 2016 - 07:51 PM

MF # is 530637M91
  • 101 senior said thank you

#9 ACmowerguy OFFLINE  

ACmowerguy
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 67204
  • 300 Thanks
  • 298 posts
  • Location: Winfield, MO

Posted February 28, 2016 - 09:26 PM

I think there is a similar Simplicity switch. I'll see what I can find.


  • limebuzz said thank you

#10 ducky ONLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,631 Thanks
  • 3,870 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted February 29, 2016 - 03:07 PM

What ever switch you use be SURE it does not supply 12 volts to the Magneto wire.  This will toast you CDI module.

 

The 5 pole switches with an M terminal should work but you my have to move the wires in the tractor plug for it to be wire correctly.


  • limebuzz and MH81 have said thanks

#11 ducky ONLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,631 Thanks
  • 3,870 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted February 29, 2016 - 03:12 PM

Here is a link to the Wire Diagram.  This should help you rearrange the wiring properly.

The D terminal should only connect to ground when the key is off and open in all other positions.  The M terminal on the 5 pole switch will do this for you.

Just NEVER apply any voltage to this wire.


  • MH81 said thank you

#12 limebuzz OFFLINE  

limebuzz

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 795
  • 863 Thanks
  • 879 posts
  • Location: Bluevale Ontario

Posted February 29, 2016 - 03:51 PM

Thanks Ducky

#13 ACmowerguy OFFLINE  

ACmowerguy
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 67204
  • 300 Thanks
  • 298 posts
  • Location: Winfield, MO

Posted March 01, 2016 - 11:40 PM

I checked on the Simplicity 4 pin switch (2122201SM)  I don't have the MF12 here at the house so I couldn't compare, but one of my  MF12 Manuals shows D-B-S-C and the Simplicity switch is arranged D-S-B-C so they are probably different.

 

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_4256.JPG

  • limebuzz said thank you

#14 limebuzz OFFLINE  

limebuzz

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 795
  • 863 Thanks
  • 879 posts
  • Location: Bluevale Ontario

Posted March 02, 2016 - 06:54 AM

Thanks ACmowerguy.

#15 DH1 OFFLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,587 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted March 02, 2016 - 08:03 AM

I checked on the Simplicity 4 pin switch (2122201SM)  I don't have the MF12 here at the house so I couldn't compare, but one of my  MF12 Manuals shows D-B-S-C and the Simplicity switch is arranged D-S-B-C so they are probably different.

 

I have an old switch from a MF12 and it looks to be the same, has the same markings in the same locations as yours.


  • limebuzz said thank you




Top