• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 CraftsmanGT ONLINE  

CraftsmanGT
  • Member No: 67395
  • 187 Thanks
  • 228 posts

Posted February 10, 2016 - 01:08 PM

Hi everyone, I'm wondering what the difference between a Tecumseh H70 and HM70 is? I'm working on repowering my neighbors snowblower for him which has an H70 with an HM70. I noticed physically they look the same just the governor setup is a bit different and the intake and exhaust are switched around between the two. This H70 is an aluminum bore and the HM has an iron sleeve, and generally I thought all H series were aluminum bores but I've found some with sleeves. If someone could help clear this up that'd be great. I don't see many Tecumseh's anymore and I'm just learning about the model designations. Thanks

#2 dodge trucker OFFLINE  

dodge trucker
  • Member No: 19314
  • 1,440 Thanks
  • 1,898 posts

Posted February 10, 2016 - 06:20 PM

HM is actually a different engine family, it is a wider block, head is different,  and yes all HM had cast iron sleeves where the H series didn't.  As long as your crank matches up length and diameter wise and is the same height from the mounting surface they should swap out fine.

#3 EricFromPa ONLINE  

EricFromPa

Tractorholic

• Contributor
  • Member No: 2135
  • 2,308 Thanks
  • 2,340 posts

Posted February 10, 2016 - 08:05 PM

Alot of Tecumseh parts are interchangeable throughout there whole engine line.I used a Carb off of a 4hp push mower on a H50 for a while till I found the correct one that was usable.Also used a few governor parts,flywheel,blower housing,coils and recoil starters off of a HM on an H.

I'm not certain but I've heard an HM isn't rated for Side load on the crank because it has thinner bearing bosses and thinner case material. 

• limebuzz said thank you

#4 Tecumseh power OFFLINE  

Tecumseh power

Jack of all trades, master of none.

• Member No: 77571
  • 943 Thanks
  • 768 posts

Posted February 10, 2016 - 08:15 PM