Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Rich's endless PIA Win10 computer issues


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 LilysDad OFFLINE  

LilysDad

    Cat Lover

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10443
  • 9,626 Thanks
  • 7,669 posts
  • Location: N. Illinois, DeKalb County

Posted February 03, 2016 - 06:50 PM

     Yep! I got more issues. I copied a meme from another forum and pasted it in a reply box for the humor thread. Tapping the post button did nothing. I then posted it in the additional option box and posted it. It dropped the photo from the box and added a banner saying I must create a post.

     I also have the issue that others have mentioned concerning words typed in reverse if I use any of the typing options(bold, italics, etc.).  An increasing number of members are going to be using Win10, and I'm concerned by how compatible this site is with that program.

 


  • MH81 said thank you

#2 EricFromPa ONLINE  

EricFromPa

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2135
  • 2,298 Thanks
  • 2,332 posts
  • Location: Bedford County Pa.

Posted February 03, 2016 - 07:13 PM

Mine works fine not a single problem.

I've been running Win 10 Pro 64 since last February.I used the beta for about 6 months then installed the full release some time in the 1st week of August.

 

I do NOT use Internet explorer or that new Microsoft Edge thing that came with Windows 10.Firefox is all I need even though it does mess up a bit with Flash Player every so often.

 

I Must say that PCs with Nvidia video do seem to still suffer problems with Win 10 but that is 100% Nvidia Driver related.Nvidia has always had problems with there older GPU compatibility and Mobile GPU driver support.

 

You have to watch Copping stuff from 1 forum to another.Alot of forums have recently copyrighted all posted materials.Tried to copy a post earlier today and got a Copyright thingy pop up.It was on some Cub Cadet forum I was looking at Pics for plow mounts.


Edited by EricFromPa, February 03, 2016 - 07:21 PM.

  • KennyP and HDWildBill have said thanks

#3 LilysDad OFFLINE  

LilysDad

    Cat Lover

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10443
  • 9,626 Thanks
  • 7,669 posts
  • Location: N. Illinois, DeKalb County

Posted February 03, 2016 - 08:16 PM

It's the same forum I've copied most of my humor donations. I don't use the Edge. I get on and go to AOL. I can try Google if You think that might help.


  • MH81 said thank you

#4 glgrumpy ONLINE  

glgrumpy

    Getting Out!

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8360
  • 6,660 Thanks
  • 6,474 posts
  • Location: Huntington, IN 46750 North East in State

Posted February 03, 2016 - 08:26 PM

Have no idea what Eric said, but I use Firefox for things and no problems that the Edge doesn't seem to want to work in or on.  I got help I think, and have regular win browser on here also, some type of older version but am afraid to try it. It is more familiar tho.



#5 MH81 OFFLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,277 Thanks
  • 28,615 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted February 03, 2016 - 09:08 PM

When it comes to browsers, there is almost nothing that wont work perfectly fine with Chrome or FireFox.  

I prefer the Fox, but to each his own.

 

There is an update that will eventually happen that will correct for many of MSE's bad coding issues, but there could be other issues with stuff like Forum Runner or TapaTalk, so no one wants to jump in yet.

 

My $0.02? Download Firefox and never look back


  • HDWildBill and LilysDad have said thanks

#6 jd.rasentrac OFFLINE  

jd.rasentrac

    Admirer of DEERE enjoyneering and design!

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10327
  • 4,442 Thanks
  • 3,989 posts
  • Location: Niedervorschütz, Hessen, Deutschland

Posted February 04, 2016 - 05:09 AM

I think, it's not a win10 prob. Maybe it's a browser prob resulting from win10.



#7 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,702 Thanks
  • 8,557 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted February 04, 2016 - 11:03 AM

98% of issues dealing with sites or the internet are problems with the browser and / or plugins, not the OS.  What browser are you using?



#8 LilysDad OFFLINE  

LilysDad

    Cat Lover

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10443
  • 9,626 Thanks
  • 7,669 posts
  • Location: N. Illinois, DeKalb County

Posted February 04, 2016 - 12:59 PM

Bing, I believe.


Edited by LilysDad, February 04, 2016 - 01:03 PM.


#9 LilysDad OFFLINE  

LilysDad

    Cat Lover

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10443
  • 9,626 Thanks
  • 7,669 posts
  • Location: N. Illinois, DeKalb County

Posted February 04, 2016 - 01:59 PM

I changed my default to Chrome and it fixed the last two problems stated above. I pasted a meme in OJ Thread.


  • MH81 said thank you

#10 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,702 Thanks
  • 8,557 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted February 04, 2016 - 02:40 PM

Bing, I believe.

Bing is a search engine not a browser.



#11 LilysDad OFFLINE  

LilysDad

    Cat Lover

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10443
  • 9,626 Thanks
  • 7,669 posts
  • Location: N. Illinois, DeKalb County

Posted February 04, 2016 - 05:12 PM

Well sure, I knew that!  :oh_shucks: I guess that leaves IE.


Edited by LilysDad, February 04, 2016 - 05:13 PM.


#12 LilysDad OFFLINE  

LilysDad

    Cat Lover

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10443
  • 9,626 Thanks
  • 7,669 posts
  • Location: N. Illinois, DeKalb County

Posted February 05, 2016 - 07:58 AM

With Chrome as default I now have no icon for favorites. Is this normal?



#13 MH81 OFFLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,277 Thanks
  • 28,615 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted February 05, 2016 - 11:41 AM

I think it's a star? Maybe?

#14 glgrumpy ONLINE  

glgrumpy

    Getting Out!

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8360
  • 6,660 Thanks
  • 6,474 posts
  • Location: Huntington, IN 46750 North East in State

Posted February 05, 2016 - 06:22 PM

A star is on mine. I click on it, it glows a moment and arrow goes over to the list looking icon next to it. BUT, not understanding how to make the catagories yet like on old system. I just have a list kinda in order of when I clicked on them. Also on my Firefox, I have to open recent or un-something tab to see them all, yet down below in open is a few that seem to stay seen all the time, but never add to that list. Don't know what this is about. Where they are listed is not labeled, just in the lower part of the box. My old puter had saves and links under many main titles, but haven't figured out how to do on new system.



#15 LilysDad OFFLINE  

LilysDad

    Cat Lover

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10443
  • 9,626 Thanks
  • 7,669 posts
  • Location: N. Illinois, DeKalb County

Posted February 05, 2016 - 09:16 PM

Okay, I got that all figured out. Now for the latest news.

 

I got a call from a guy today sayin' he was from Microsoft. He said he needed to check my computer. I said how do I know who you are. He offered to give me his ID. I wasn't convinced. I said my computer was brand new and I didn't need it examined. Checking on Snopes tells me this is an old trick.






Top