Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay

Photo
- - - - -

should timing be changed after milling head?

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 I Carey No Cash OFFLINE  

I Carey No Cash
  • Member No: 69506
  • 7 Thanks
  • 14 posts

Posted January 19, 2016 - 01:02 PM

I have a stock k301 I am about to mill the head about .030.  I was wondering if the timing will still be good where its at or could I gain a little extra performance by "bumping the timing" a little.  I currently run mid grade (89octane) gas but was thinking I should go to 93 octane after the mill job.  This is my first time doing mods to a Kohler so I don't know all the little tricks yet.

#2 LilysDad ONLINE  

LilysDad

Cat Lover

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10443
  • 9,643 Thanks
  • 7,673 posts

Posted January 19, 2016 - 04:42 PM

If everything else is staying the same, I see no reason to change the timing.
  • Trav1s said thank you

#3 glgrumpy ONLINE  

glgrumpy

Getting Out!

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8360
  • 6,661 Thanks
  • 6,475 posts

Posted January 19, 2016 - 05:46 PM

There are forums for Pullers and K engine mods out there. They have kits offered and tips. Someone on here probly has that link and will put it on here.  Seems .030 is quite a bit, sure won't hit valves?  Think you can do some work on head for valve clearance too. I'm sure the Pullers have info on timing change, but maybe that is for more powerful engines and fuels, I don't know. Those same places have kits and techniques you can buy for get lists of if you are going the puller route.

#4 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

Got points?

• Member No: 5472
  • 2,603 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts

Posted January 19, 2016 - 06:10 PM

You will be OK.  From the Kirk Killer Kohler build pdf found here:

http://www.kirkengin...KohlerPartI.pdf