• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Dan O OFFLINE  

Dan O
  • Member No: 79593
  • 70 Thanks
  • 27 posts

Posted January 15, 2016 - 03:05 AM

I'm a newbie, I got my first tractor, a Bolens H14 this fall. The previous owners added the letters ZAM in front of the Bolens because they used it to clear(and squeegee) their ice rink. For a guy who really likes to skate, it seemed like a sign. It's been repowered with a Honda GX340 motor. It came with a plow, a snow blade, 2 mower decks and a snow caster(round back), and a dumping "wheel barrow" thing. also an extra set of wheels with weights and chains for the rear. I love the fact that it has a PTO. No belts to mess with, easy swap on the attachments. Seemed not bad for $400.

H14
H14 Craigslist Photo
Honda Repower

It has turned out not to be quite the good deal I thought it was, although I've had a lot of fun wrenching on it. (My wife says I'm nuts)

I had to rebuild the snow caster, I did that in December(before the first snow fell) after figuring out that the previous owner ran it with no oil in the gearbox. New gears (from Rick, blackjackjakexxix), new bearings (local bearing store) all around, and now it throws snow great. Even wet heavy snow.

Snow Caster Bearings
Snow Caster Gear Box
Snow Caster Bearing Replacement
New and Old Snow Caster Gears
Snow Caster Gears