Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Rpm digital tachometer


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 1964Deere OFFLINE  

1964Deere

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1547
  • 248 Thanks
  • 289 posts

Posted January 13, 2016 - 10:30 PM

Wanting to buy an RPM tachometer to find out how fast some of my pulleys are spinning for an upcoming project. Does anyone use these if so what brand/unit is the best or at least works good for you
  • chieffan said thank you

#2 bbuckler OFFLINE  

bbuckler
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 59269
  • 2,087 Thanks
  • 1,891 posts
  • Location: Killeen,Tx

Posted January 13, 2016 - 10:31 PM

I have this one and it works good. http://www.amazon.co...ords=tachometer


  • chieffan said thank you

#3 lyall ONLINE  

lyall

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2180
  • 1,747 Thanks
  • 1,398 posts
  • Location: State Center, Iowa

Posted January 13, 2016 - 10:54 PM

I got one off e-bay for under $15 delivered.

 

I checked it with several different electric motors 1750 and 3600 rpms,  drill that top speed is 1200 rpm and a B&S 6 hp gas motor on a shredder was factory set at 3600 rpms

It was right on.

I disconnect the battery when I am not using it.

 

I check the garden tractors if I have not used them for a while.

 

been using mine for 3 years now and still going strong.


  • boyscout862 and chieffan have said thanks

#4 1964Deere OFFLINE  

1964Deere

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1547
  • 248 Thanks
  • 289 posts

Posted January 14, 2016 - 09:44 AM

You have to use reflective tape for these? Or do they make like a marker to make the marks? Just wondering how hard it is to get that tape on different things?

#5 ol' stonebreaker ONLINE  

ol' stonebreaker
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 12515
  • 1,318 Thanks
  • 984 posts
  • Location: idaho

Posted January 14, 2016 - 10:08 AM

  W/ the tape that came w/ my HF phototach I clean the surface good w/ acetone, let dry and stick a small piece on. Hasn't failed me yet.

                                            Mike



#6 JiminRI ONLINE  

JiminRI
  • Member
  • Member No: 62914
  • 65 Thanks
  • 65 posts
  • Location: Rhode Island

Posted January 14, 2016 - 06:30 PM

What is the brand and model number?

Thanks,

I got one off e-bay for under $15 delivered.

 

I checked it with several different electric motors 1750 and 3600 rpms,  drill that top speed is 1200 rpm and a B&S 6 hp gas motor on a shredder was factory set at 3600 rpms

It was right on.

I disconnect the battery when I am not using it.

 

I check the garden tractors if I have not used them for a while.

 

been using mine for 3 years now and still going strong.



#7 lyall ONLINE  

lyall

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2180
  • 1,747 Thanks
  • 1,398 posts
  • Location: State Center, Iowa

Posted January 14, 2016 - 06:47 PM

JiminRI

 

like this one on ebay

http://www.ebay.com/...18AAOSwt6ZWUHqZ

 

mine came with several pieces of reflective tape.

 

I have also used white paint - which has work too


  • JiminRI said thank you

#8 JiminRI ONLINE  

JiminRI
  • Member
  • Member No: 62914
  • 65 Thanks
  • 65 posts
  • Location: Rhode Island

Posted January 14, 2016 - 09:20 PM

Thanks, lyall

 

JiminRI

 

like this one on ebay

http://www.ebay.com/...18AAOSwt6ZWUHqZ

 

mine came with several pieces of reflective tape.

 

I have also used white paint - which has work too



#9 WrenchinOnIt OFFLINE  

WrenchinOnIt
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8592
  • 2,516 Thanks
  • 732 posts

Posted January 16, 2016 - 07:21 PM

I use this one, like OTC's tools generally, and I really like this tach , works superbly

http://www.amazon.co...=vglnk-c1345-20
  • 29 Chev said thank you




Top