Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Massey 14 engine troubles


  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#31 DH1 ONLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,587 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted January 31, 2016 - 05:42 PM

I think 14 and 16 use the same carb.


  • James Bosma said thank you

#32 propane1 ONLINE  

propane1
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 54307
  • 6,106 Thanks
  • 3,197 posts
  • Location: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Posted January 31, 2016 - 07:14 PM

Not sure of the brand of carb, but a 28 or 30 mm carb will work. A 26, is for the 12 hp engine. I had a 30 on my 14 hp.
I'm sure someone else has better info about the carbs.

Noel

Edited by propane1, January 31, 2016 - 07:18 PM.

  • James Bosma said thank you

#33 James Bosma ONLINE  

James Bosma
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 76126
  • 451 Thanks
  • 221 posts
  • Location: Belleville Ontario Canada

Posted January 31, 2016 - 08:35 PM

I was thinking the 28 was for the 14 and 30 for the 16 but could be wrong.  Going to try carb off the other 16hp next weekend after reassembly.

going to check the numbers inside the carb to see if there is a difference.


  • propane1 said thank you

#34 RAJ OFFLINE  

RAJ

    JMC fan

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 40
  • 302 Thanks
  • 318 posts
  • Location: East-central Minn

Posted January 31, 2016 - 10:11 PM

Any chance the tractor is actually a 16 with a 14 hood? Hope you get it figured out.


  • propane1 and James Bosma have said thanks

#35 James Bosma ONLINE  

James Bosma
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 76126
  • 451 Thanks
  • 221 posts
  • Location: Belleville Ontario Canada

Posted February 01, 2016 - 06:02 AM

will have to check serial numbers to be sure. There is no rubber mounts so think its a 14 frame.


  • RAJ said thank you

#36 RAJ OFFLINE  

RAJ

    JMC fan

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 40
  • 302 Thanks
  • 318 posts
  • Location: East-central Minn

Posted February 07, 2016 - 11:48 AM

Mentioned your problem to my local guy, he thinks it is a problem with ignition timing. Not sure if you've figured it out yet, or if you've already tried replacing the points and condenser, but if not you may want to try that. The point gap should be around .020-.023 I believe.
  • James Bosma said thank you

#37 James Bosma ONLINE  

James Bosma
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 76126
  • 451 Thanks
  • 221 posts
  • Location: Belleville Ontario Canada

Posted February 15, 2016 - 09:26 PM

 Still working on it

think it is somewhere in the ignition system

Engine checks out fine

Put new points in and have tractor reassembled

Points retimed to facory specs

 

Been wondering if bad connection in wiring will cause this issue


  • propane1 said thank you

#38 propane1 ONLINE  

propane1
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 54307
  • 6,106 Thanks
  • 3,197 posts
  • Location: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Posted February 16, 2016 - 03:31 AM

Key switch bad ??

Noel

#39 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,623 Thanks
  • 3,860 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted February 16, 2016 - 02:56 PM

Key switch bad ??

Noel

Boy have seen that one cause a lot of these type issues.


  • propane1 and James Bosma have said thanks

#40 James Bosma ONLINE  

James Bosma
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 76126
  • 451 Thanks
  • 221 posts
  • Location: Belleville Ontario Canada

Posted February 16, 2016 - 03:06 PM

If it is the key i'd be pissed  spent 60 canadian dollars on a brand new one from Massey this summer  but thats not to say the switch is bad and didnt think of it

would a wrong gauge wire cause this



#41 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,623 Thanks
  • 3,860 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted February 16, 2016 - 07:59 PM

Easy way to check is run a 12 volt positive  wire from battery straight to the positive terminal of the coil.   If the miss goes away problem is between coil + and battery +.  Switch is in that circuit.


  • propane1 and James Bosma have said thanks

#42 Dugmf12 OFFLINE  

Dugmf12
  • Member
  • Member No: 57577
  • 72 Thanks
  • 41 posts
  • Location: Minnesota

Posted February 17, 2016 - 01:30 PM

Hello James,

Been following this thread since you started it, and today I read the whole thing again.  I noticed in posts 9 & 13 it seems to act up when you put it under load or running the snowblower.  I don't have the wiring schematic in front of me but is it possible the pto switch could cause this ignition problem?  Maybe switch that out with Massey #2 and see what happens?  Just a thought.

 

Doug


  • limebuzz and James Bosma have said thanks

#43 Bipitybopityboo OFFLINE  

Bipitybopityboo

    New Member

  • Member
  • Member No: 5448
  • 14 Thanks
  • 21 posts

Posted February 21, 2016 - 06:35 PM

Is the air breather/filter the correct one for the K341? It should be larger than the one on

the #2 tractor in your picture.


  • James Bosma said thank you

#44 James Bosma ONLINE  

James Bosma
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 76126
  • 451 Thanks
  • 221 posts
  • Location: Belleville Ontario Canada

Posted February 21, 2016 - 07:04 PM

Techinally the wrong air filter on it  has 14hp not 16 hp filter

Not the air filter because engine acted up without in on in the shop so could rule the air filter out but wrong one may cause it to run rich

Bypassed wiring and engine seemed fine

Rewired whole tractor today and ran without air filter.

Seemed to have fixed it

When taking the wiring out we noticed connectors starting to rust at ignition switch and circuit breaker

At first I didn't think it could be wiring because it only acted up under load.

Would start, run move so was a weird one for me.

Only load I could put on it today is drive up the driveway in high  at full throttle and didn't fizz, Had it act up doing that before and today she just flew up the hill with no problem.

I have the snow blower on the other Massey which is at my place and this one is at my parents where the shop is, May have to take Massey 2 back to the shop and swap blower out.

Oh ya blew head gasket on Massey 2 last week, New one should be in tomorrow

 

Thank you all for you help


  • RAJ, DH1, ducky and 2 others have said thanks

#45 James Bosma ONLINE  

James Bosma
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 76126
  • 451 Thanks
  • 221 posts
  • Location: Belleville Ontario Canada

Posted February 21, 2016 - 07:45 PM

I beleive it was the connection at the ignition switch. Same terminal is used for both the coil and pto. Extra draw on the terminal and bad connection was the culprit

When I rewired this time I used 14ga wire and new connectors


  • RAJ and limebuzz have said thanks




Top