• Please log in to reply
43 replies to this topic

#1 GoTigers16 OFFLINE  

GoTigers16
  • Member No: 79512
  • 4 Thanks
  • 7 posts

Posted January 07, 2016 - 08:04 PM

Hi folks, I am fairly new to riding mowers. Only past experience is with a very old craftsman that never quite but cut badly. I am looking for a lawn tractor for mowing and hauling only. Budget is around 2k and not that flexible. I have narrowed down the options to Cub Cadet XT LX46 and D130 (lowes). I like them both for different reasons. I like the upgrades on CC including four anti scalp wheels and I like the extra cutting height options on the Deere in the lower deck range. I felt the cub was a little better with the exception of cutting height options. The height selection on the CC didn't feel nearly as good as the JD. I will be cutting the front yard very low and the back yard a bit higher. The back is fairly uneven but generally flat. Total yard around 1/2 acre.

I also considered craftsman pro 20440 and husqvarna YTH24. Husky ruled out because lack of selection highs and wasn't to high in craftsman bc our Sears is closing soon.

I would really appreciate any feedback or thoughts!
  • 637Yeoman said thank you

#2 HDWildBill ONLINE  

HDWildBill

Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,710 Thanks
  • 8,563 posts

Posted January 07, 2016 - 08:13 PM

Welcome to GTtalk.  I think what you will hear is a lot of members will tell you to go older on your tractor selection.  But I think that would depend on your mechanical abilities and also how much time you would have to devote to working on an older tractor.  One thing to keep in mind all tractors require TLC.

I'm kind of partial to Craftsman.  I have two and they are both work horses for what they were designed to do.  But I'm sure you will hear about other tractors that are favorites.

• boyscout862, chieffan, 637Yeoman and 1 other said thanks