Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay

Photo
- - - - -

Economy tractor: year? and help with clutch issue (pics)

economy tractor clutch issue help

• Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 Dave From Vermont OFFLINE  

Dave From Vermont
  • Member No: 78130
  • 7 Thanks
  • 11 posts

Posted December 31, 2015 - 03:32 PM

I'm a newbie, in desperate need of help. I've never worked on engines but very mechanical and motivated to get this tractor rolling.

1.) What the heck year is it? ( see attached photos)

2.) What is the model? the plate says "Economy" is that what it is? - or is it an Economy - Jim Dandy or a Standard Economy?, Deluxe? is there a series/model number ( the manuals here in the (fantastic) forum have model numbers and not years.

2.) Clutch issue?, pedal goes to the floor:

I recently picked the tractor up for $850.00 with many attachments, it was working fantastically, engine is sound and starts on a dime, it moved pretty dang fast, a few different speeds, solid! The day I went down to trailer it back home, I turned her on, pressed the clutch in, and saw sparks, I immediately turned the engine off, when I came back . . the clutch pedal, when depressed, went all the way to the floor and will not engage, it does pop back up into the correct position though.

I've began to attempt to separate the tractor to get to the pressure plate area to inspect, with the hope that I could figure it out, but with my very, very limited experience - I have no idea if this is the right direction, I'm stumped.

If this course is correct I'm wondering how get to the area of the pressure plate - I've seen videos with folks separating other larger tractors but can't figure out how to separate this Economy tractor.

3.) Would someone steer me in the right direction as to which manual I should use, hoping that the manual is here in the forum but if not where would I find this manual?