Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Linux Mint ?


  • Please log in to reply
86 replies to this topic

#76 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,603 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted December 29, 2015 - 09:07 PM

Any proprietary drivers installed?


  • chieffan said thank you

#77 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,709 Thanks
  • 8,563 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted December 30, 2015 - 12:19 AM

What did you use to up load the pic's to the computer?  This is a new one for me and I've uploaded a lot of pics on many different distro's and have never had a problem like this.  I've also uploaded quite a few pics to here as well.


  • chieffan said thank you

#78 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,461 Thanks
  • 39,690 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 30, 2015 - 05:51 AM

Any proprietary drivers installed?

Not sure what those are.

 

What did you use to up load the pic's to the computer?  This is a new one for me and I've uploaded a lot of pics on many different distro's and have never had a problem like this.  I've also uploaded quite a few pics to here as well.

I used the advanced uploader, Bill. One thing that has popped in my head this morning is the screen shot was a .png and I saved it as a .jpg, using Photoscape. I am going to try to go through Gimp and export it as a .jpg to see if it does the same thing.

I just opened that pic with Gimp and there is no color, so has to be Photoscape not working right. It has an issue with converting .png to .jpg.


  • chieffan said thank you

#79 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,461 Thanks
  • 39,690 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 30, 2015 - 06:23 AM

It is Photoscape! As soon as I resize a pic, it changes to B&W and cuts part of it off. I'll have to use Gimp.

What I like about Photoscape is I have all the pics in that file as a thumbnail at the side to chose the pic. Easy to work with a lot of pics.

With Gimp, I have to know the file name to open it.


  • chieffan said thank you

#80 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,709 Thanks
  • 8,563 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted December 30, 2015 - 11:23 AM

Kenny, there are a bunch of photo software for Linux.  Check your repositories for some.  You can install them, check them out and keep what you like and then tell the software manager to uninstall what you don't like and it won't cost you any $$$.  Your not stuck with Gimp.  In the KDE PCLOS I have an app called Showfoto that does a lot of photo editing.


  • KennyP and chieffan have said thanks

#81 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,461 Thanks
  • 39,690 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 30, 2015 - 12:03 PM

I'll do some searching around for something better. Gimp works, I'm just spoiled after using Photoscape.


  • HDWildBill and chieffan have said thanks

#82 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,461 Thanks
  • 39,690 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 30, 2015 - 05:19 PM

I found one! Called 'Picasa' from Google. Found every pic on the computer and they are all easy to get to. Played with it some, I can even make a poster! :dancingbanana:


  • MH81, HDWildBill and chieffan have said thanks

#83 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,709 Thanks
  • 8,563 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted January 25, 2016 - 12:09 PM

For those interested, Distro watch (DW) has a review on the latest Mint with the XFCE Desktop.  The XFCE desktop is a lightweight desktop and is generally used on machines that are resourced challenged.

 

http://distrowatch.c...?issue=20160125


  • ducky, KennyP and Trav1s have said thanks

#84 gopher OFFLINE  

gopher

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 2755
  • 567 Thanks
  • 631 posts

Posted January 25, 2016 - 01:32 PM

Are you running gimp 2.8? I'm running Mint 17.3 cinnamon. Gimp shows a preview box. I have Shotwell loaded if that helps.



#85 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,603 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted January 26, 2016 - 09:17 PM

For those interested, Distro watch (DW) has a review on the latest Mint with the XFCE Desktop.  The XFCE desktop is a lightweight desktop and is generally used on machines that are resourced challenged.

 

http://distrowatch.c...?issue=20160125

 

Going to try it in place of cinnamon in on my cheap frankensteined box in the garage.


  • HDWildBill said thank you

#86 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,603 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted January 28, 2016 - 10:00 PM

For those interested, Distro watch (DW) has a review on the latest Mint with the XFCE Desktop.  The XFCE desktop is a lightweight desktop and is generally used on machines that are resourced challenged.

 

http://distrowatch.c...?issue=20160125

 

Installed the XFCE desktop on my better machine that is running Mint (Phenom Quad Core 1.8 Ghz/4 gigs of ram/500GB hd) and it is definitely snappier/more responsive than Cinnamon on the same machine.  Good choice on an older machine if you still want Mint.  I will try it on the garage machine over the weekend.


  • KennyP and HDWildBill have said thanks

#87 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,709 Thanks
  • 8,563 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted January 29, 2016 - 11:09 AM

I've used XFCE with other distro's and it was pretty fast.  I have PCLOS with XFCE installed on a very, very old Dell Inspiron laptop (2002 version) and it does a decent job the issue is that there isn't really enough memory and when the kids use it they load a bunch of apps and it can't handle it so it will lock up.


  • KennyP said thank you




Top